Privacy Matters Click for Cross Click for Westport Click for Mag Bay Click for Lurssen

Sea Recovery 900 gpd Watermaker

Discussion in 'Watermakers' started by CSkipR, Oct 27, 2017.

  1. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14,186
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Normally you check it at the water maker at the test or bypass hose that you open and it usually has a 3' hose on it with no end routed into a bilge. Your watermaker should only have 1 membrane I believe at 900 GPD, so I'd just check it there if that is the case. You could boost it to a 1200 GPD just by adding a second membrane and the appropriate tubing.
  2. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Capt J it has two membranes and no bypass hose. Tomorrow I'm going to flush the membranes with MCC1. Beard Marine instructed me to take a 20 gal bucket filled with mcc1 and water and circulate it through the system for a couple of hours using an old bilge pump. I connected the bilge pump hose after the 5 micron filter and took the discharge hose and extended it to the bucket so it continues to circulate. Don't think I will use the acid wash (mcc2).
  3. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14,186
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I wouldn't use the acid wash given their age. Measure the output of each membrane after they've been running a while and see where you're at on each one (salinity). Or just buy new ones if it's such a big concern.
  4. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Has anyone ever tried the Osmosis Technology membranes for the Sea Recovery units? They have an online distributor that sells their membranes and they produce more gallons per day and are less money. The SR membranes are 3"x 21" 450 gpd and the Osmosis Tech are 3"x21" 700gpd. $100 less per membrance but lot more gpd.
  5. captholli

    captholli Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Location:
    In The Bilge
    Your joshing us right? after all of my "hoopla" and bit#*ing about proprietary membranes, you've found replacements that fit your Sea Recovery pressure vessels or are you purchasing membranes that come in their own pressure vessels?
  6. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Yes these do fit. They peaked my interest because of the gpd they produce. I could run the watermaker at less pressure and it would produce the same amount of gpd or more should I need it. Just curious more than anything. There $430 compared to $530 ea so cost is not a big difference.
  7. captholli

    captholli Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Location:
    In The Bilge
    Well "dog my cats"! If this is a true replacement for the proprietary Filmtec's produced for Sea Recovery than I stand corrected and will never "whine" about that again plus, I'll shout your finding from the mountaintop that these now exist. Do expect a phone call from Beard Marine offering you hush money to never print or repeat your findings ever again...
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017
  8. captholli

    captholli Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Location:
    In The Bilge
    Shoot, I went online a few minutes ago and can now find 3 inch x 21 inch from AMI and a few other membrane aftermarket retailers. This wasn't the case two years ago when I had a clients machine refurbished after it sat for two yrs while the vessel was listed. Searched high and low for membranes and different parts and filters and in the end was forced to deal with Beard Marine for supply. This is good news for the 1000's of units out there in service. I did see where Osmosis Technology has an asterisk next to their 21 inchers denoting a new product. So much for my proprietary ranting...
  9. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Here's their online website. www.acquaprimo.com They only sell online. Hope this is alright to post. They purchase their membranes from Osmosis Technology out of Ca so they are not Filmtec. A salesperson at Osmosis Tech told me where I could get them as they only sell to dealers and distributors.
    I called AMI but they will not sell to anyone except dealers.
  10. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    7,135
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    As much fun as this is, I wouldn't totally quit my ranting until someone actually uses one of the others and finds it works well. I've seen too many things that seemed like perfect replacements of OEM parts and then one very tiny difference made it not quite so.

    CSkipR, did you talk to them enough to find out if they had many customers who had made the switch and were happy, although their answer might be biased? Just curious since this is obviously not common knowledge.
  11. captholli

    captholli Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Location:
    In The Bilge
    QUOTE="olderboater, post: 253971, member: 40728"]As much fun as this is, I wouldn't totally quit my ranting until someone actually uses one of the others and finds it works well. I've seen too many things that seemed like perfect replacements of OEM parts and then one very tiny difference made it not quite so.

    CSkipR, did you talk to them enough to find out if they had many customers who had made the switch and were happy, although their answer might be biased? Just curious since this is obviously not common knowledge.[/QUOTE]


    I agree but after checking and double checking all measurements on the SR membranes they're the real deal as inlets and outlets match the Filmtec's & are generic on most membranes so @ 3" diam. x 21 " long they'll fit the pressure vessels. Going to put the dust cover on my Sea Recovery soap box...
  12. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Actually the lady at Osmosis Tech told me their membranes work in SR but she couldn't sell it to me (only dealers) so she told me where I could get it. She told me they just sold several to Acquaprimo. That's an Italian name if that has anything to do with it. The model number is SW3021-700.
  13. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    7,135
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Sounds good. I like that you heard it straight from Osmosis Tech.
  14. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,025
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    I agree but after checking and double checking all measurements on the SR membranes they're the real deal as inlets and outlets match the Filmtec's & are generic on most membranes so @ 3" diam. x 21 " long they'll fit the pressure vessels. Going to put the dust cover on my Sea Recovery soap box...[/QUOTE]

    So they fit. BFD.
    Cost effect and overall performance still does not come from something that just fits (wife #2).
    I would encourage feed back after some hours of operation.

    Or in other words (typing slower for those in Rio Linda), A bargain is not a bargain if it does not preform as the original.
    Since the original was never in question, no failure was stated, we may never have an answer here. Just witness somebody spending money.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017