Click for Furuno Click for Northern Lights Click for Glendinning Click for Westport Click for Westport

Making Career Choice...Work in Newport, RI???

Discussion in 'Licensing & Education' started by CaptainSilva, Dec 11, 2006.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CaptainSilva

CaptainSilva Senior Member

Hey everybody...

I've been on the water since I could walk. I've been driving boats since I was 5 years old...which gives me a total of around 18 years hands-on experience. I'm 23, and located in the Northeast and I have spent most of my time in Rhode Island. I've ran sportfishing charters with my father for the past 4 years and I'm now interested in making boating/yachting my lifelong career choice. I am getting my captain's license (6 pack) over the winter for starters. Ultimately, my goal is to end up as a capatin for a private yacht.

Any help and/or recommendations would be much appreciated. Courses, qualifications I need, plans of action to get to where I want to be...etc.

Also, anyone local (in the Northeast or Rhode Island area) that could offer some advice in this situation would just make my day. Thanks!!!
  2. Kevin

Kevin YF Moderator

There's actually a couple of threads discussing just this subject in the Yacht Captains section found HERE. Enjoy.
  3. YachtForum

YachtForum Publisher/Admin

Captain Silva,

This post has been moved under the Yacht Captains forum. If you had taken the time to read this forum, I'm sure you would have found the answers you seek.

BTW, I'm having trouble with your math...

Admin
  4. CaptainSilva

CaptainSilva Senior Member

Sorry...like I said I am new to the whole online forum thing and got a little lost in all the threads and forums and what not. I also adjusted my math too...haha. Thanks for the help guys!!
  5. Captcruz

Captcruz New Member

Capt Silver In Newport