Click for Delta Click for Burger Click for Furuno Click for Nordhavn Click for Abeking

Yacht Mission Profile

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by R99, Nov 20, 2007.

1. R99

R99 New Member

Hi ,

I’m studying Nav Arch and I’m figuring on making a submission to designer of the year competition.
    I‘m also hoping some of you clued up superyacht type people might be able to give me some assistance.

To start with:
    I am trying to work up a mission profile. Basic requirement is for 12 guests, capable for use in Caribbean and Med and able to charter. I am thinking along the lines of ‘explorer type vessel’ (around 75 m) –yes I realise Caribbean and Med are not exactly ‘explorer’ destinations. I figure if the vessel is at least suitable for Med and Caribbean yachting and can cross the Atlantic on its own bottom, then it is not a big jump for it to go just about anywhere.

So, for a 12 month cycle:
    (not necessarily in order)

1 month refit
    2 months in transit
    5 months Med. Yachting
    4 months Caribbean Yachting
    or 9 months intermittent exploring

For a charter cycle, ( typical charter 7 days):
    (not necessarily in order)

1.5 days transit
    4 days anchored, ‘yachting’ generally poking about
    1.5 days in port
    Followed by a 1 day turn around

Are these numbers about right?

Secondly:
    Requirements of the Med. And Caribbean:

Besides stern-to berthing, a maximum draft of 4.5m for port entry is about the only restriction I have, am I missing something?
    If a vessel by its nature had an unavoidable draft of 5 –6m would that exclude it from being a feasible charter yacht because it could not enter many ports?

Finally (for now…):
    With regards to range –
    What is the minimum range for an Atlantic crossing – ie between respectable bunkering ports? Yes I also realise ‘hardcore explorer’ and ‘minimum range’ don’t fit together…

Anyway, thanks a lot for any thoughts on this.
    Rob
  2. AMG

AMG YF Moderator