Click for Delta Click for Mulder Click for Mag Bay Click for Westport Click for Northern Lights

Yacht interior murals

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by galimo, Feb 27, 2009.

1. galimo

galimo New Member

Hi,
    I'm an artist formerly with Warner Bros. Scenic Arts Studio and Jeff Koons Studios in Manhattan. I've painted a number of high end, high profile public and residential murals. I want to break into painting murals on mega yachts and I'm looking for direction on how to pursue this. Does anyone have any suggestions.
    Thanks
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

If you have a verifiable history of successful works for well known individuals then maybe you will be best served by contacting the Interior Designers offering an example of your work.
  3. Fishtigua

Fishtigua Senior Member

Murals on yachts do not work. Trompe d'oeil is the preferred medium.

K1W1 will know of some large works we had to fit to a large boat, very nerve-racking at the time, but looked great.

On one Bennetti we had an aft-deck floor covering that was hand-painted on canvas and coated in a waterproof laminate, very high tech for the '80s, non slip and lasted. It could be lifted from the teak deck for washdown and its shell and beach theme was so welcoming for charter guests. I still wonder why it never caught on?
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi Fish,

I remember the second build I did ( later went round the world on it as Chief Engineer)

There were Bronze Murals that arrived with an Artists Weight of 40kg but a shippers and receivers of 400kg.

These arrived about a week before the launching and all provision to support them had been made for 40 kg, the Skipper who you know had to sign a release for any damage caused by the failure of the mounting before the yard would Sikaflex them to the plywood wall.

We were in some huge head seas and massive rolls chasing large fish in the next 3.5 yrs and never was there a peep out of these murals- Sikaflex Rules.