Click for Westport Click for Mag Bay Click for Cross Click for Abeking Click for Ocean Alexander

Windlass Breaker 92 53 ss

Discussion in 'Ocean Yacht' started by Rob Wardlow, Apr 10, 2020.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. cleanslate

    cleanslate Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    If you say so. You would have heart failure on my old boat if you saw my engine room. It's kind of a low priority for me. I'm to busy with other parts of the boats up keep. At least I keep the oil etc. out and clean. The paint is beat. Mechanically things are pretty good, just not shiny. They say if you mess with the patina, you devalue the antique...boat.:)
    If I ever got to visit and stay on your boat for the night, I'll take the engine room cabin!
  2. Rob Wardlow

    Rob Wardlow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Florida
    I have looked in the rope locker, the electric panel and turned on every spare. Searched in every nook and cranny in this boat but i can not find it. I did text the previous owner in hopes he will answer and shed some light. I will keep you posted.
  3. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Try to avoid that wire trace....don't blame you. Do you have a sub panel inside your bridge console? Stay safe.
  4. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,319
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I've seen them on the main panel in the salon on other Ocean Yachts. It really can't be that hard to find to trace the windlass wires on a 53' Ocean.
  5. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,418
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    I remember one customers boat had their windlass and bow thruster on the same forward batteries.
  6. Rob Wardlow

    Rob Wardlow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Florida
    The problem with the tracing is the wires are running behind some closets the previous owner remodeled, but did not leave access to the back side so I can follow them all the way through. I did get a text back from the previous owner that told me where he "thinks" it is. I am beginning to think maybe there wasn't a fuse at all and they went straight to a battery or bus if that is possible?
  7. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,418
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    UG
    Anything is possible but if really factory, I would not think so.
    I have questioned a few things about Ocean Yachts, But their adherence to good install manners and following decent wire practice close to ABYC was pretty good.
  8. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Agree with Capt Ralph, Ocean is not going to leave that line without a breaker. So lets assume the breaker is not located in the hard to get to locations. Try to follow the wires into those spaces and then out. We are assuming your windlass is inoperable that's why you are in search of the breaker. If its operating and you can't find the breaker thru a trace, you may want to splice one in close to the battery source. Worst case is that you have 2 breakers.
  9. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,418
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Not sure about that idea. Not knowing the invisible fuse or breaker spec, It would be guessing in the dark for a spec of the second breaker.
    AND, if the first did pop or blow, were asking the same question, Where is that sucker??

    I wonder, Did oceans use ACv windlasses?
    My Bertram had a 120Vac horizontal model. The Hatteras I help on has a 240Vac vertical windlass.
  10. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Agreed. I suspect OP s looking for the breaker because his windlass is inoperative. So it wouldn't work in any case.
  11. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,319
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    This, the OP needs to find the factory breaker. Which might not be a breaker at all, it could be one of the flat large glass fuses. Hatteras liked to use those back then as well as some other builders. I think Ocean did as well for some items. I think Ocean used DC windlasses and every Hatteras that I know of also used DC windlasses.
  12. Rob Wardlow

    Rob Wardlow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Florida

    Anything is certainly possible, but the previous owner did some modifications that sometimes do not make any sense. I have an original Ocean schematic in the owners manual showing were it is suppose to be, but it is not there. Thanks for everyone's input and when I get to the boat this weekend I am going to see if I can trace the wires from the windlass. It is in fact not working and had been a few weeks ago. This forum is a wealth of knowledge!
  13. cleanslate

    cleanslate Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    You got that right, the wires for it should be pretty big and easy to follow. A good bright hand held flash light will be your friend.
  14. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Schematics are only a suggestion as to where you might find a given item....
  15. Rob Wardlow

    Rob Wardlow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Florida
    Finally tracked it down in center hatch between battery banks. Not what I was looking for.

    Attached Files:

  16. cleanslate

    cleanslate Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Ocean did this ? or the previous owner? Not great. Run the wires to a serviceable easy to get breaker, ya think?
  17. Rob Wardlow

    Rob Wardlow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Florida
    I believe it was done by previous owner. It was no where near where the wiring diagram for the boat had it.
  18. DOCKMASTER

    DOCKMASTER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Ketchikan, Alaska
    I had a few of these type fuses behind the panel where all my battery selector switches are and was from the factory. It really burned my azz that they would put fuses where you couldn't even get to them without removing the whole panel (PITA). So we did exactly what cleanslate said. Got rid of the fuses and wired in breakers instead and put them in a logical, accessible location.
  19. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Congratulations. Your persistence paid off!
  20. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,418
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    UG
    But you got it.

    Does your windlass work now?

    Yep, Re-run the wires with some nice heavy cables and locate the breaker in a good safe place.
    Remember; The breaker should always be off when not in use.
    Mounted somewhere easy to reach.
    Mounted somewhere that after short / brief instructions, a guest can easily find it to turn it on / off.