Click for Nordhavn Click for JetForums Click for Northern Lights List Your Boat Click for Westport

What is the purpose of this device? (Lamsa 15kVA)

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by xF_PP, Aug 25, 2021.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. xF_PP

    xF_PP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Moon
    Unknown "box" in engine room: What is a Lamsa 15kVA box for the main shorepower?
    No documentation on board....

    Attached Files:

  2. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    I'm not an expert, but it looks like a transformer to me.
  3. xF_PP

    xF_PP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Moon
    Boat in Europe, 230V troughout, no 115V onboard
  4. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    I believe this allows you to input 115 to 230v (50 or 60Hz) and puts out a clean 230v for you.
    Fishtigua likes this.
  5. BRyachts

    BRyachts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    Yeah, probably some sort of isolation transformer.
    Hard to tell without seeing how it's wired into the system
  6. xF_PP

    xF_PP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Moon
    I agree - Thank you!
  7. DOCKMASTER

    DOCKMASTER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Ketchikan, Alaska
    Based on the label it looks like you can input 115v and get 230v out. I’m a little confused by the ENT 115-230though. This would imply you can input anywhere from 115 to 230 and then get 230 out. I’m not familiar with this much variability in allowable input so I may not be understanding the label correctly.
  8. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,565
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Euro 230v is one hot at 230... it’s not like the US 240 where you have two 120v hots on opposing phase.

    a transformer can take 115v and output 230v.
  9. mapism

    mapism Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    Sardinia
    If it isn't, its plate certainly reminds of one.
    I'm a bit intrigued by the two large-ish black hoses that look like meant for water, though.
    Are there electrical cables inside them possibly, and they are used only as additional protection?
    I never came across a liquid cooled isolation transformer.
  10. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,812
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Special design only for use on the moon.
    gr8trn likes this.
  11. BRyachts

    BRyachts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    Off topic, but a few years ago ASEA was developing liquid cooled shore power converters to eliminate the high heat out put, and also allow the units to be installed in a high ambient area.
    Another well known mega yacht builder I worked with had to install large A/C air handlers in their shore power converter install area, which lead to a significant increase in A/C chiller size.
    Gotta dissipate all that heat somewhere.
  12. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    Our ASEA units are cooled from our chiller loop.
  13. xF_PP

    xF_PP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Moon
    In my opinion, it is an ASEA unit relabelled by the Spanish importer. But I am not on board at the moment to check.
  14. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    Definitely not. ASEA is much more sophisticated than a simple isolation transformer.
  15. mapism

    mapism Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    Sardinia
    Well, every day is a school day, as they say.
    Rated for much more than 15kVA, I suppose?
    And does that imply running the chiller regardless of needing airco?
    I appreciate that this doesn't make any difference in places where you would need airco regardless, of course.
  16. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    2- 45kVA units. Yes, HVAC must be running when plugged into shore power.
  17. BRyachts

    BRyachts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    That begs the question:
    How do you cool the ASEA units when you are using the chiller loop to HEAT the boat in the winter?

    Most air handlers require the loop to be above 105 degrees for the klixons to become active and normal loop temp is in the 110-115 range.
    Or have they configured the heat output from the ASEA's into the heating loop cycle, and they will tolerate the 115 degree operating temp??

    I ask because I recently did 3 winters docked in northern Italy and heating was extremely important. And yes, I did have conventionally cooled ASEA units in the engine room and kept temps mostly acceptable with all fire dampers closed limiting the ingress of cold air. We also had a large 3 phase immersion heater in the loop for general boat heating. I was also able to isolate sections of the boat not being used, like the entire guest area and forward lounge etc.
  18. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    We haven't had to consider it, as all our air handlers have heat strips. We've spent the last two September/October (early) in Maine, and needed heat then. But otherwise, we're always looking for cooling.