Click for Cross Click for Mag Bay List Your Boat Click for Walker Click for Ocean Alexander

Westerbeke 15kw diesel gen stalling

Discussion in 'Generators' started by CSkipR, Mar 30, 2013.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    SkipR
    On another post you sent recently on another subject you said you replaced the sensor at the water housing implying you had solved the problem? Yes ?
  2. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Yes I recently replaced the water temp switch (sensor) thinking that might be a problem. Obviously not.
  3. Kafue

    Kafue Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,150
    Location:
    Gold Coast Australia
    Buy/borrow an inspection camera, find the tank that serves the genny and I bet you will find a lot of growth, as Marmot will say, it's not algae but looks like it.;) After that, there are a few ways to deal with it.
    Followed this thread since day one because I had a similar issue.
    Good luck.
  4. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Kafue,
    Thanks but the gen runs off the main engine fuel tank and there is no sign of any growth on any of the 4 eng racor or the gen racor filter.
    Skip
  5. RT46

    RT46 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    my generator is T-ed off one of the dual racors from the stbd main.

    when there is even a slight restriction in the filter the generator will shut down even though the main seems to run fine, and the generator only shuts down when the main is running.
  6. NYCAP123

    NYCAP123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,285
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I'd given some thought to that (which is why I asked about the sputter), and changing the fuel filter is never a bad idea. However, he should have some sediment in the bowl and would probably have noticed at least some hesitation on his mains when he put down the throttles. I'd originally been inclined towards a water restriction, but it would have been more consistant, and he claims the temp is good. My thought is a wiring problem, Most specifically a wire too close to heat (maybe touching or very close to the exhaust). Could also be a short or corrosion or a slightly lose connection. I think he's on the right path with checking the wires. One other possibility would be that tempeture sensor. Nothing says a new one can't be bad as well, although my main thought is a wire near a heat source. That could account for it working again after it cools. If you find such aa wire it may test fine, but look for a point of discoloration in the casing where it may touch or come close.
  7. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    RT,
    My gen has a separate line running from the main tank to the gen racor. I have checked and just replaced the racor, inline and fuel bowl filter even though they were all clean and had been replaced 10 hrs ago. Fuel lift pump is working.
    Just checked all wire connections in box on top of gen. I did find a slightly loose screw on the two position switch that says "run & emergency stop". Not sure it was loose enough to create this issue or not. Currently running gen.
    Also I did find the heat exhaust switch (sensor) on the gen. Had looked all over except on the back side of the elbow. Will order one of these and replacel in case thats the issue.
    Skip
  8. RT46

    RT46 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    CS,
    you are on point, I need to put a separate Racor on my generator like you have, Its on the "to do" list...the boat came that way, but that is not an excuse........for now I just give extra vigilance to the racors on the mains.

    I see from the previous pages that you may have ruled out the emergency shut down.
    btw, my onan has a breaker that trips if the generator emergency shuts down.

    don't forget to look at your halon shut down for the generator.....

    Did you check the fuel shut down solenoid? they do go bad, and you could have a bad ground or 12v feed that could cause an intermittent shut down...you could bypass the fuel shut down to see if the unwated shut down repeats. just make sure you monitor the generator if you bypass the fuel shut down solenoid.

    good luck
  9. Kafue

    Kafue Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,150
    Location:
    Gold Coast Australia
    Hi Skip,
    It's not just the growth you can see in the filters. There is probably water in your tanks, feeding this growth. Your mains will not be as badly affected as the generator. The camera will show you the growth and the water below the diesel. If you were to treat the growth with the wrong chemical which just kills it, then your filters will clog up VERY quickly, leaving the water.
    There are a lot of "snake oil cures" out there. The product I used is the Australian Fuel Doctor, not to be confused with the US one which apparently is a scam.
    After all your investigating and attempts with different causes, this could be the simplest.
    Again, good luck!
    Kafue
  10. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Westerbeke

    Gentlemen,
    Early this morning I changed the secondary fuel filter although it was clean as a whistle. Also removed the control panel cover and went through and checked to be sure each screw & wire was tight. All were. When I checked the two pole switch on the panel cover (run or emergency stop) the bottom screw was not real tight and you could move the wire connectory around. I tightened it and restarted the gen this morning at 8:30am and just shut it down at 5pm. NYCAP you nailed it. Hard to believe that little screw was loose enough to cause the probem but certainly appears that way.
    Skip
  11. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Kafue,
    All fuel and filters are clean and knock on wood have never had water in a racor or tank. I believe it was a loose connection as mentioned in my previous post.
    Thanks
  12. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,974
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Hey Skip
    If I read correctly, the gen-set has it's own fuel pick up from the tank? Check the pick up screen when it dies next.
    Thought you were island bound by now. Were heading down June.
    ,RC
  13. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl

    Yes it has its own pick up from the main tank although this is not a fuel issue. Don't leave until May 22 for the Bahamas as we had a slight change.
  14. garyohv

    garyohv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Florida & Oregon
    Test of Safety Switches

    Was that loose screw on the Stop switch, because only the Stop switch carries electricity when running. A bad connection could stop your engine, but at the same time you released the Start switch?
    The safety switches are engaged when you release the Start switch. Next time, to test if ANY of the safety switches are open, jump a wire from TB1-2 to TB2-1 (in the Control box) and start it. This bypasses the switches and powers the fuel solinoid and pump.
    With one screw loose, check all the screws on the terminal boards. Lossen them and retighten.