Click for Abeking List Your Boat Click for Cheoy Lee Click for Llebroc List Your Boat

Westerbeke 15kw diesel gen stalling

Discussion in 'Generators' started by CSkipR, Mar 30, 2013.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    15kw Westerbeke

    I am positive it hasn't sucked up anything as nothing is in the strainer and its putting out alot of water. This particular problem happened a couple of times before.
    For whatever reason the gen has been running for 1 hr with no shutdown. I didn't detect any of the wire connections being loose but maybe that was the problem or slight corrosion although didn't see any of that. Will keep running it and see if it reappears.

    Have never located the sensor for the elbow?
  2. Marmot

    Marmot Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Location:
    9114 S. Central Ave
    "Okay then I jumped the two wires together and the gen ran normally although I haven't run it very long. What does this tell me?"

    It reads like you found the problem.

    If you want more confirmation, put your ohm meter across the terminals of the temperature switch and see if it goes open at a low or normal temperature. If it does then that is the problem.

    The second oil switch may be an "auxiliary" oil pressure switch that has a use other than the safety circuit.
  3. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,029
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I think the second or one of the two oil switches is a safety that does not allow the starter to engage if someone hits the button and the engine is running.
  4. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Skipper

    If I have read this thread correctly, your genny is now running fine? If so, you may have had a momentary block to your water supply that fell away before the restart.
  5. Marmot

    Marmot Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Location:
    9114 S. Central Ave
    What do you think would reach an overtemp condition first if the raw water supply was blocked?

    A) The engine jacket water.

    B) The raw water cooled exhaust.
  6. Marmot

    Marmot Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Location:
    9114 S. Central Ave
    It would be nice to get some feedback from the OP, wouldn't it?

    Would someone please check to make sure he didn't get electrocuted poking around on his now apparently functioning generator.
  7. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,029
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    C) the raw water pump and it's impellor, then B, then A. :)
  8. Yachtjocky

    Yachtjocky Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    A, B or C

    You should have stopped at C ! ;)
  9. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    15kw Westerbeke

    Okay guys I'm back. Well the gen ran for approx 2 hrs and everything seemed normal. Not sure what to think. Maybe a lose connection or something I may never know. Tomorrow I will run it all day and see what happens.

    Still don't understand why two oil sensors if that is what they both are. Also would really like to locate the exhaust sensor on the gen.

    No one ever answered my question regarding the water sensor if it was good or bad from my description.
  10. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,029
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    The water sensor is most likely going bad. In the pic it looks like the terminal on the right is loose or not connected the way it should be to the sensor. After the gen is running move/jiggle the wires/terminals on it and see if it shutsdown...... Either way, They're cheap, just change it.

    The two oil sensors. The normally closed one is most likely the oil shutdown sensor. The normally open one, closes once there is oil pressure, is most likely a safety that will not allow the start button to work once the generator is running (or vise-versa), so that someone doesn't inadvertantly break the starter by keeping the start button held down after it has started.

    Not all Westerbekes have the exhaust sensor. Some do, some do not. Yours probably does not if you cannot find it. It will be on the exhaust riser that your rubber exhaust hose is connected to. Within 12" of the exhaust hose, if it is indeed equipped with one.
  11. Marmot

    Marmot Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Location:
    9114 S. Central Ave
    Considering there was no C, I agree. There was no C because there is not a safety switch on the raw water pump.
  12. Marmot

    Marmot Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Location:
    9114 S. Central Ave
    That's because only you can answer that question. You have to check to see if the switch opens at a temperature lower than intended.

    You are the guy at the scene with the test equipment, we are just sitting at our computers asking questions and making suggestions. The rest is up to you.
  13. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,029
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    The newer Onan gensets also have a sensor for water flow (the computerized ones) and if they don't detect waterflow just past the impellor within something like 7 seconds, they'll shutdown for that also. But that's a different generator than the OP's, however still valid to your question. hehehe
  14. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,029
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I would just change it, they're pretty cheap, take 2 minutes to change.

    If you really really want to test it. The best way or most accurate way would be to remove it, get a pan with water in it, put a submersible thermometer in the pan, turn the burner on high, and put test leads on it connected to a multimeter, put the sensor end in the cold water, stand there until the water boils or the switch closes and watch the ohm's on your multimeter until the thing closes......note the temperature on the thermometer.......

    Also you should run the generator fully loaded and see what the water temp is getting up to. Because at a 1000 hours, the heat exchanger should be cleaned. Water flow through it may be fine under light to moderate loads, but it's possible that your water temp is creeping up under heavy loads, such as when underway when you have all a/c's cranking, just turned the water heater on, etc. etc....
  15. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    CskipR

    Just curious, how did your genny run today?
  16. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl

    Beau,
    Sorry we were out of town for a day. The gen ran fine for 6.5hrs under load. I shut it down after that. Will be monitoring it on my next fishing trip. Hopefully it was a loose wire although not sure because all connections seemed to be good.
    Skip
  17. Beau

    Beau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Cold Spring Harbor, NY
    Skipper

    I had a problem with a roaming oil pressure. I pinched the connector a bit with a needle nose to make the leads to the oil sender tighter and that solved my problem. If you think a loose wire is the problem, try that?
  18. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Went out in boat today for cruise. After almost 4 hrs the gen shutdown. Good oil pressure, temp good but would not restart. After approx an hr it restarted. Any more ideas?
  19. NYCAP123

    NYCAP123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,257
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    You ran for 6.5 hours back on 4/3 with no problem, then it shut down after 4 today. Have you run it in between? Also, did it just shut or did it sputter or surge out before shutting? Also, were you running when it shut or standing still? An intermitant problem often indicates a short or lose connection.
  20. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    NYCap,
    I have probably run it 3 times inbetween but for no long periods. Today I was on the bridge and the wife told me we lost AC so I didn't hear the gen shutdown. In the past it started sputtering and then shutdown. Haven't noticed a surge. Yes I was running when it shutdown. Here was the scenario. Went up the intracoastal about 18 miles at cruise and some slow speed. Stopped for lunch 2 hrs and left gen running. Got back on boat headed home and it stopped approximately after 30min of running. Not sure where else to check for loose wire. Maybe I should take the cover off the wiring connections and check each individual one. Very frustrating.
    Skip