Click for Glendinning Click for Abeking Click for Nordhavn Click for Abeking Click for Mulder

univarsity student studying Mechanical Engineering

Discussion in 'Licensing & Education' started by Matterne, Feb 11, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Matterne

Matterne New Member

Hi all,

Basically, I am studying Mechanical Engineering in South Africa, and want to know where this qualification would take me in terms of yachts.

I did a successful season in 2008 as a decky, but decided to head back to SA to get an education. I am now in my 2nd year (of 4).

My plan is/was to finish, head overseas and work somewhere like Canada or Spain for a few years as a straight up engineer (and in the process get hold of a better passport) and then move into the yacht world as a engineer/deck crew on a nice medium size sailing yacht. Might be a pipe dream? But ja...

Am i wasting my time studying engineering, just for the sake of working on yachts, when there are obviously schools were I can get a more yacht specific training? Part of the reason I am studying engineering is because I wanted a fall back, for when whatever career path I chose didn´t work out!

Any advice is more than welcome! I am semi-considering to blow off varsity and head out to do the 1st course to become an engineer! (Long week of 8-5 lectures in Stellenbosch in mid summer will do that to you!)

K1W1 if you don´t mind giving me your opinion?
  2. FullaFlava

FullaFlava New Member

If you don't mind me poking my nose in despite not being who you asked for advice.....

I believe a mechanical engineering degree (BSc?) will help you later in your campaign towards Y3/Y2 in gaining exemptions for certain Theory subjects such as General Engineering Science I & II.

I'm afraid to get an engineering qual you'll need to start at the bottom with either an AEC or an MCA approved MEOL Course which includes craft training; you will also need sea time.