Click for JetForums Click for Mulder Click for Northern Lights Click for Comfort Click for Mag Bay

Trying to get into the industry -- advice?

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by boatingetc, Dec 22, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. boatingetc

boatingetc New Member

To start off, I'm 24 and I have several years of experiences on boats up to 25 feet, kayaks and jet skii's. I lived in Fort Lauderdale for two months looking for work either day work or as a deckhand on a yacht. I was able to find 9 days of day work, one for 8 days on a 140 foot expedition yacht and the other day on a 288 foot super yacht. I am now employed full time on an 85 foot sailboat. My salary is a tiny $400USD a month! It was either accept this position or go back home in Connecticut and work retail for the winter.

I have the motivation to succeed. I'm familiar with yachts and have obtained my 50 ton license as well as a few other tickets. But this boat isn't going anywhere. We've been in the yard for ever a month and I don't see it moving any time soon.

I am the only crew member on board and when we are under way, its an engineer and the captain/owner. I'm able to cook for everyone as well as focus on interior and exterior jobs also helping navigate and other jobs.

I find it really difficult to get started in the yachting industry. And it's discouraging seeing the "partiers" get the work and those like me, who don't party...find next to nothing.

Fort Lauderdale was an experience, but I'm from Connecticut and if I'm unable to get a raise, even to $1,000 a month then I will try Newport around April of 2013.

I'm looking for the chance. The chance to show I have what it takes. I'm in this career for my life. But how do I stand out from all of the hundreds, maybe thousands of others who are in similar shoes.

Just curious on any of your feedback or comments.