Click for YF Listing Service Click for Cross Click for Delta Click for YF Listing Service Click for Walker

Student Design, critique?

Discussion in 'Yacht Renderings & Plans' started by vling, Oct 6, 2009.

1. vling

vling New Member

Hello YF,

My name is Vaughan, I'm a transportation design student working on a yacht for my term project, and was hoping to get some constructive feedback from the knowledgeable folks on YF. The design is ~320 ft length, inspired by the Greek Trireme, using sail (Dynarig) and solar power. Above deck is supposed to be mostly open air with large overhangs for shade. My main concern for the design is: Will the long nose or keel placement be problematic for balance/handling of the ship? The design is still in progress, so any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Vaughan

Attached Files:

2. 84far

84far Senior Member

Vaughan,

first thoughts are 'star wars' :D . second, instead of having the single blade (keel) in the middle, have two seperate blades, still have both blades connected to the bulb. the New Zealand America's Cup team tried it (concept) one year... not to sure if it works, but it would look good... unless thats the traditional/modern look your going for?
    theres no reason for that bow not working, u would just have to be careful with it.
    if u made it a planning hull that would be nice.

overall, pretty cool imo

far
  3. AMG

AMG YF Moderator

I have just one question, which way is it going..?
  4. Henning

Henning Senior Member