Click for Walker Click for Glendinning Click for Abeking Click for Burger Click for Cross

Steel Trim Tabs (original) on Aluminum boat

Discussion in 'Chris Craft Roamer Yacht' started by roamertim, Oct 26, 2010.

1. roamertim

roamertim Member

hi Roamers,
    While doing the bottom this year, I found something that surprised me a bit. The original equipment trim tabs on my 1969 38' aluminum Regal are made of steel. There was some rust colored corrosion on the mounting feature on each, which made me check it. Magnet sticks to the trim tab as well.

The trim tabs themselves have no corrosion on them (aside from at the mount hole for the actuator), so not as if it is problemmatic for me. I was surprised though.
    Any thoughts on why CC put steel trim tabs on this model?
    Just seemed odd to me.
    Tim
  2. m2m

m2m Senior Member

I am no expert but my guess is that they are poor grade of stainless steel, which a magnet will stick to.
  3. Marmot

Marmot Senior Member

The magnetic property of stainless steel is not related to its quality, only its composition.
  4. m2m

m2m Senior Member

I'm only trying to point out that some types of stainless steel rust
  5. 9lives

9lives Member

Steel tabs

The tabs on our boat were Steel as well and were one of the first places pitted. We converted to stainless which was an easy change. You wil find the rudder is the next place to look at converting to stainless as well.
    The cost to engineer and fabricate my tabs was a bit south of a Boat unit.
    I have an engineered drawing if you would find it helpful, just beware it is drawn for a 41 Regal.
    Mark
  6. Marmot

Marmot Senior Member

"The trim tabs themselves have no corrosion on them (aside from at the mount hole for the actuator)"