Click for YF Listing Service Click for Ocean Alexander Click for JetForums Click for Mulder Click for Glendinning

Serious college student here.

Discussion in 'Yacht Captains' started by SilverFishVA, Feb 5, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. SilverFishVA

SilverFishVA New Member

I'm in my second year of college majoring in computer science. I've decided I'm going to transfer to another college to major in Hospitality Management. I've then found this forum for a while and decided I want to be a yacht captain. It's a great combination because I love to gather social events and be on the water. I've also been on power boats(one is 30 feet) numerous times at the marina. No knowledge of knotting though but I remembered cleaning and waxing boats.

Anyone would like to point a path for me? I know I will start off as a deckhand but at least I have my college degree and go get a license right after college. I'm located in Virginia. Newport News/Norfolk and Annapolis, MD are good locations for a place for me to study maritime skills.
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Welcome to YF.

How does someone who has done 2 yrs of Computer Science and then swaps to a Hospitality degree get a Maritime License right after college?
  3. ScotL

ScotL Senior Member

Don't forget about being the Captain:

It sound slike someone needs to focus a bit more.
  4. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member