Click for Mag Bay Click for Nordhavn Click for Abeking Click for Llebroc Click for JetForums

Questions on Marquis 59

Discussion in 'Marquis Yacht' started by StillLearning, Jul 24, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. StillLearning

    StillLearning New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    FL/TX
    Hello all,

    Have followed YachtForums for a long time, only recently registered.

    Evaluating next boat purchase. The Marquis 59 is very interesting to us, but still wrestling with a couple of questions.

    First question regards black water holding tank. Appears to be two 40 gallon holding tanks. Have only had experience with a single holding tank.

    How does the two tank setup work on the 59 Marquis? Do all vaccuflush units go to either tank? are specific heads designated to a specific tank?

    When you pump out - are there two tanks to empty?

    Second question is related to power. There are two 50 amp cables for shore power. Looks like the AC panel is split into line 1 and line 2.

    If you only have 1 cable plugged in, can you run either side of the AC panel (as long as total amperage is managed)?

    Thank you in advance.
  2. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,910
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Usually the 2 holding tanks have an equalization pipe so they act as one tank for pumpout and other reasons. Could be 2 totally seperate systems, but would be rare.

    You should be able to run the entire panel off of one 50 amp cable if you don't run to many items (manage the load).

    Quality is very average on Marquis.
  3. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,032
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    One could be black water and one grey water. I'd recommend calling Marquis and seeing if they can shed light on it.
  4. StillLearning

    StillLearning New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    FL/TX
    Thank you for your responses. I have found a manual, appears in reading the manual two separate tanks not connected.

    Good idea to call Marquis, will try that.

    thanks
  5. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,576
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I helped a neighbor with one of these a few years back. Pretty good boat. From memory the two holding tanks aren't connected but if i remember correctly there is only one overboard discharge and have to flip a valve in th lazaret te which is a pita when underway. I could be wrong... check the specs and manual

    I believe you can run the boat on one cord, if limiting your loads but never tried
  6. trmnewt

    trmnewt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Rochester
    May be a similar setup to my Carver--2x 50 amp shore power cords, and a whole separate panel for the second that powers only the 2 A/C units for the bridge and aft deck. No way to run everything off 1 cord as there are 2 separate panels.
  7. StillLearning

    StillLearning New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    FL/TX
    I wanted to follow up on my questions, share what I learned in case someone is asking the same questions in the future and doing a search on the forum.

    Holding tanks (blackwater): Standard configuration is 2 40 gallon black water tanks. There are 2 heads standard, (3rd optional if crew quarters are built out).

    Forward head goes to one tank, aft head goes to the other tank. Systems are not connected, separate pump out port and starboard. Each tank does connect to a Y valve for overboard discharge.

    The two 50 amp power cords are split on the panel for Line 1 and Line 2 breakers. Each respective line powers a set of breakers. If you want the breakers under Line 2 to have power, plug in the second power cord.

    I have talked with owners which say they use a 50 amp splitter on occasion to power both shore cables and manage the total load to keep it under 50 amps.

    I am sure there may be exceptions, this was the consensus I found climbing on several of these boats and talking with several owners.

    thanks
  8. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,930
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Thx for your follow up.
    ,rc
  9. Scott M

    Scott M New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    I have a 2008 Marquis 59. Very happy with the boat.

    The boat has two waste tank pump-outs on the stern. They are NOT connected. Everything said above is correct. The add-on crew cabin toilet (3rd toilet) is connected to the port tank.

    With regard to AC and using a 50 amp splitter. I have not done this, but I believe the isolation/booster system that was used on later boats would prevent this from working.

    If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact me. Best of luck.
  10. StillLearning

    StillLearning New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    FL/TX
    Scott,

    Thank you very much for your response.

    I had spoken with the owner of one of the boats I am looking at. It does have the isolation/booster system. He had brought up that he used the splitter and felt it was fine. I am very interested in any additional insight your could provide on the topic.

    Thank you very much