Click for Mag Bay Click for Abeking Click for Nordhavn Click for Apollonian Click for Westport

Portable AC for the engine room

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by BoulderGT3, Aug 22, 2019.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. BoulderGT3

    BoulderGT3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Ftl
    A passing thought. I've getting ready to have a major service done on my sport fish. Has anyone used the 14-20btu portable AC's with tubes and run them into the engine room? The guys will be in there for 5 days. Considering trying to make it a little less hot for them.
  2. motoryachtlover

    motoryachtlover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    smithfield, VA
    Are you talking about the units that you rent from sunbelt and other rental companies. They come in a ton to ton and half. They do work good but you have to rig up a way to exhaust hot air out of the boat. Not to hard as they are designed to exhaust air above the ceiling grid in a commercial real estate space. Depending on the size of your door you may want to measure to make sure they go in there. I think they will fit through the door. If memory is right they rent for $500/week. They are 120V and 2 men can lift them and they can be hauled in a pickup. If you are the guy that boat the Viking SF that I covet I hope your are not having major engine problems.
  3. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,566
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    When I closed my shop, I gave to Huckins my dock side A/C system.
    Big old 24Kbtu marine unit & 40 feet of un-insolated 8".
    It all fit in a cart, plugged into a 240Vac dock outlet & used a submersible March pump moving up river water thru old garden hoses.
    All hardwired, no thermostat or control.
    The duct would reach in thru the transom door, in the ER vent or thru a window and down into the ER.
  4. BoulderGT3

    BoulderGT3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Ftl
    I was just going to put a unit in the cockpit and run the 6” tubes into the engine room. I don’t even know if the tech cares.

    Thanks for the comment on the boat. The MAN’s have been great. This is my 6th full season on the boat. Other than normal maint, I’ve had to replace a water tank sensor and I need to rebuild one of the displays which is $1000 or so. All the temps are perfect and the boat turns 2350. I hate to have the major done but it’s time.
  5. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,757
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    A few yachts I've worked on, one I currently manage has engine room a/c. It won't make it 70F in there. But it will knock down the engine room temp 5=7F and it makes a world of difference.
  6. rtrafford

    rtrafford Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Vero Beach
    Yes, I've got an air handler in the ER. Only use it for projects as I like my diesels kept warm. But it does make a world of difference, closing the vents and cranking up the AC the night before the project. Too much hull exposure to water temp, though, and it won't make it "cold" in there, but it takes the edge off, for sure.
  7. rtrafford

    rtrafford Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Vero Beach

    Also, depending on location there are companies that rent residential package units that sit on the dock and plug in to 240v, ducting into the space. As I recall, a similar kind of price range, but a few tons makes a bigger splash for impact. On the SF I used to set one in the cockpit on a small pallet...
  8. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,566
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Max Marine electronics in Liquordale fixes most MAN displays.
  9. BoulderGT3

    BoulderGT3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Ftl
    Yep, that's where I'll go. I think it's just the back up battery because it's defaulting to metric as opposed to imperial. I just do a reset and I'm on my way. I'll get it fixed after the major service.
  10. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,566
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    sounds like a battery in the box is bad. Something like a P C battery.
  11. BoulderGT3

    BoulderGT3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Ftl
    Correct. There are still some gymnastics involved to replace it. $800-1000 and 5 days with Max
  12. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,566
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Ouch..
  13. CaboFly

    CaboFly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Seattle
    How many hours on he MAN's? I am approaching 2k soon and have smaller common rails. Did cooling system last winter and new risers. Similar to you all my numbers are exactly where they were on commissioning sheet.