Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Northern Lights Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Abeking

PNW College grad looking for career advice

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by N.D.Nichols, Jan 8, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. N.D.Nichols

N.D.Nichols New Member

Hey everyone, my name is Nathaniel Nichols and I'm curious if anyone has any advice on becoming a deckhand; or in general how to break into the world of being on a yacht crew.
    A bit about me:
    I'm a recent graduate from Western Washington University with a degree in Archaeology.
    I've grown up around the water love the outdoors.
    I like to dive, hike, and camp.
    I've worked labor jobs my whole life, from roof cleaning, window washing, landscaping, and as a janitor.
    I've got a strong work ethic and take pride in all of my jobs.

I'm looking for a career in this field, NOT just a "holiday" or "fun" job, but something I can do for the rest of my life and support a future family on. I have the utmost respect for all of those that work out on the water and would appreciate any and all advice from you all.
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2017
  2. olderboater

olderboater Senior Member

First, I like your attitude and approach and the method by which you're asking.

Now, have you been around any deckhands? What do you know about what the job is really like? How do you feel about being away from home most of the time with your future family? What kind of time have you spent on the water that tells you boats are for you?" Do you know enough about yacht jobs to really know that's where you want to turn?

You don't need to answer those questions for us but be sure you're asking them to yourself. One reason I ask is that you started with an interesting major in Archaeology, but one that either wasn't aimed toward a profession or that you've now decided that profession isn't for you.