Click for Apollonian Click for Northern Lights Click for CL Yachts Click for Mag Bay Click for Nordhavn

One for the Refrigeration Gurus

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by baltimore bob, Feb 6, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. baltimore bob

    baltimore bob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I need to replace an air conditioner condensing unit on a split system, I believe the original to be 10-12k btu. There are plenty of 16s available. What harm will come from putting on a larger condensing unit than original?
  2. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,304
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    The condenser and the evaporator need to be matched. Finding the right size is easy
  3. baltimore bob

    baltimore bob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Would be easier if there were any tags left. This is a Cruisaire unit, my size guestimate was going of the compressor size of the on next to it, which I know is a 16.
  4. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,568
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Google the all the Tecumseh or Copeland numbers on the top of the compressor.
    Something should come up with the compressors BTU rating. Start from there for your real replacement condensing station.

    The condensing and the evaporator stations need to match to operate correctly.
  5. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,568
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    How are you sure it's a condensing station failure? Starters and caps can fail.
    Low pressure switches keep compressor from starting or running. In heat mode, head pressure will kick a compressor off.
    Also, poor water flow will kick a compressor off.
    2 or 3 knob controls will not offer any error info.
  6. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,757
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I would always change the condensing unit and expansion unit. You should be able to read the tag on the expansion unit inside of the boat and that should have the BTU's as well.
  7. baltimore bob

    baltimore bob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I's like to do that, but it's installation in the crews quarters would require some major demolition, This unit also runs the one in the stateroom, that one is not too bad to get to.
  8. baltimore bob

    baltimore bob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Rust. This unit actually still works. Long before I got her, this boat sat on the hard with terrible topside leaks, pretty much sank on land as she lay abandoned for years. I have access to some fairly new condensing units removed from fire damaged boats.
  9. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,304
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I have had numerous compressors replaced over the years, no need to replace the air handlers as long as the tech clears the lines.

    Keep in mind that some of the older condensors will
    Just keep on running and running no matter how bad they look and no matter how faded their blue paint is. The newer units may have pretty shiny new white paint but often fail under 10 years.
  10. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,568
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Oh? looking for 16Kbtu & larger, split systems evaps and condensing stations, 230Vac for me.
    Looking for 16Kbtu but 115Vac, split stuff for a customer.
    Were both cheap but offer rum on delivery.