Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mulder Click for Perko Click for Mag Bay Click for Westport

New project, Help please!

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by kc135delta, Apr 24, 2006.

1. kc135delta

kc135delta Member

Hello!, this is my first try at the mega yacht design scene. I design Aircraft for a living, and corprate pilot to keep my hours up. I decided to try somthing that I have allways admired. My life is centered around aviation, and so I thought the Yacht that I design be the same way. I was figuring that it could be 180-240ft in length and have the ability to operate 3 S-76's or bell 222/430 size aircraft from the yacht it'self. Not only accomodate them, but accomodate them inside the yacht it'self to protect them from corrosion and wear as I also plan for the boat it'self to be able to travel through some serious seas to reach all corners of the globe. I had a 3 engine set up in mind. Two diesels for cruise and a turbine for extra speed or power. Also to be used for a back up incase the diesels fail. Then a bow thruster for manuvering. Then some Generators ect... . I have this other idea for power but I'll review it and if it looks like it will work I'll patent it. Other plans for it include tenders and rec. vehicals.

Overall I will have the rough design complete in about a week, and don't be surprised if you see attributes of aircraft in it's design, afterall aviation is all I know (for now).

I just need to know what programs I need to get to create 3d CAD's for ships. My aircraft programs won't allow the attributes of a ship to be created.

Thankyou for your time,

Drew DeBord
  2. KCook

KCook Senior Member

Thorny subject. As the few software platforms that have the power to handle it all are very expensive. Those of us on the cheap path start with 2D design programs instead of 3D. Here is another thread that slogs through these software issues - YACHT DESIGNERS > Yacht Designers Discussion > 3D rapid conceptual design