Click for Glendinning Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Westport Click for Apolonnian Click for Mag Bay

Need A/C help

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by Boomer, Jul 7, 2020.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    Yup...$6k for a new complete system..that isn't happening right now
    ..contemplating a 16k btu self contained unit behind the TV in the salon and just be done with it...
  2. Prospective

    Prospective Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    New England
    The cost differential between a split system and a self contained unit at the same BTU's is staggering. I know it's nice to get the compressors into the engine room for noise but the cost of the systems is unbelievable. If I could figure out how to convert to self contained I would.

    Boomer, if you put a self contained behind the TV, how would you duct it?
  3. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    We have an entertainment cabinet my TV sits in that goes fwd to where the old windows were. Intake is easy as I only need to add a vent for the air to suck in from the salon...outflow I am contemplating options as I want a circular flow to happen around the salon...cant download a pic from my phone as I cannot downsize
  4. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,303
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    You can get a whole condensing unit for $4500. I ve had a number of compressors replaces over the years, usually about $1800/2000 with labor except once with a 36k btu unit that was closer to $3000.
  5. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    Got 2 quotes to switch over to 410a and both were in the mid 6000 figures hence looking at other options now as the junk made nowadays doesn't last that long
  6. Prospective

    Prospective Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    New England
    I may be using the wrong terminology. I replaced the entire engine room unit. I call it the compressor but that's probably the entire condensing unit, with the air handler/evaporator being on the other end.
  7. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,303
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Oh ok. That makes sense now. Over the years between my 53 Hatt which had 5 splits and a 70 footer I used to run with 7 of them... I had about 10 compressors replaced... unless the condensors are over 15 years old it s worth it because the older units were better built than the new ones

    I am so glad I converted my boat to chillers. Yesterday the raw water circuit got clogged up on one of my two chillers. I shut of the valve to that chiller, descaled it all while the other chiller kept the boat cool enough. I am done with splits.
  8. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    Splits are a PITA...
  9. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,567
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Problem with a 410 split system, you must run new copper tubing.
    The system can not tolerate any remaining r22 oil that you can never get out of the lines.
    The 410 operates at a much higher pressure. I have witnessed cheaper copper lines fish lip rupture.

    A self contained 410 with an extra sound shield over the compressor (option on some models) seems to work well when installed with care and quality.
  10. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,567
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    I wish I could of stayed with a split in our mid cabin. Ran out of A/C parts and a SCU was all I had. Works fine but there is a noise that will keep light sleepers up.
    Think I have the stuff now to go back to a split system. Just need the time.
  11. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    I am cooling the salon so no sleeping in that area unless I pass out on the couch...it will be in the entertainment cabinet to help muffle the compressor...now to get cooling water to it
  12. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    Dometic, marinaire, mermaid, or mabru ..thoughts or ideas...experiences with them?
  13. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,757
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Stick with dometic
  14. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    Webasco has a good deal at defender...good unit?
  15. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,567
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Hard to answer that question;
    The original Webasco was big, required 3/4" hose or hose adapters (normal is 5/8"). Not Serviceable.
    Every failure was compressor burning up. The original units were considered disposable and that was our service philosophy on them.

    Of course, Dometic Corp recently purchased Webasco Corp. Already a smaller foot print design with the Webasco label, is on the market.
    I do wonder if it's the same stuff in a smaller package or really redesigned and serviceable.

    They did have a real small op display panel.

    So, if it is real cheaply priced, it may be an original model.
  16. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,303
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I like larger hose diameter. Less chance of clogging. Small foot print is ok but sometimes makes it harder to work on them.
  17. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,757
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    NO. See Capt Ralph's post for more details. Stick with Dometic.
  18. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    Switching entire eunit over to 410..compressor and air handler...no more patches
  19. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,757
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    That's the way to do it.......make sure to replace the copper line set too. But once and done.....the 410 is far more efficient than 22.
  20. Boomer

    Boomer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Seminole
    My ac tech said not to replace the lines...he was just going to flush them?