Click for Nordhavn Click for Nordhavn Click for Abeking Click for Walker Click for Abeking

Maximum hours on Detroit 8V92TI ?

Discussion in 'Engines' started by brianm, Mar 3, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. brianm

brianm New Member

Hi all,

I need some good solid help.

I am looking at purchasing a Hatteras 46'.
    The thing is; it has 8V92ti 625HP Detriot diesels.
    The owner said he thinks they have 6000hrs on them!
    He has overhauled the engines twice and considers that they should have about 400hrs on them since he overhauled two years ago.
    He swears by these engines and said they are trouble free and run very well.

Can you help with knowledge on these engines.. I'm fairly new to this size boat etc..
  2. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

Judging by what you said, it sounds like the previous owner got around 2600 hours between rebuilds if he overhauled them twice. How long 18v92's last all depends, I've seen a set with dead cylinders at 900, others in SF go 1800hrs, some go 4000 hours (rare). I would say typical longevity in a boat like that would be 1800-2800hrs. But 400hrs since rebuild should still give you years and years of enjoyment. Total hours (6000) is kind of meaningless for the most part. I would highly recommend hiring a good engine surveyor to examine them, and report on current condition and what he thinks they will go before purchasing the vessel.
  3. brianm

brianm New Member

Capt J.

Thanks for your expertise. This boat is in the caribbean, sometimes we don't get straight answers to questions like you would in the states or elsewhere. We do have good mechanics and expert boatmen, I suppose that's why I aked these questions here on this thread, to get an outside perspective..
    I found 6000hrs to be very high, as I have been looking around and have not seen a boat with this high time.. I would say your answer is spot on, thanks again!
  4. jln007

jln007 New Member

8V92TI Reliability