Click for Abeking Click for Stats Click for Walker Click for Bering Click for Seacoast

MAN mmds-clc 6.3 Monitoring System fault reset

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Louay, Aug 7, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Louay

    Louay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar
    Hi,
    Does anybody know if I can reset the faults and alarms on my MAN mmds-clc 6.3 monitoring system.
    There was no issues until I drydocked the yacht and fully serviced the engines!
    Then, after getting her back in the water 4 alarms (Water coolant, air tempreture, oil sensor and oil pressure) showed up. I checked everything again but there seemed to be no problem with. Also the yacht is running amazingly but still I can't get rid of the alarms, even it's not mentioned in the manual how to reset them.
    I got some advices saying that only the dealer can reset the system but unfortunately they don't have the PC with the software here in Qatar!

    Thank you in advance.
  2. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    10,199
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I have this issue with common rails on a yacht I've managed long term. It seems to only occur on the port engine and once every couple of years. It is either weak engine batteries, or 1 of the sensors going bad, it sends 4 alarms.....it's usually the coolant pressure sender near the freshwater pump.

    Don't need to reset it, when the issue is fixed the alarms go away, sometimes shutting the battery switch to that engine off for 10 minutes fixes it.
  3. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,740
    Location:
    Jax FL
    Do you want them cleared from the log?
    Or, they are still alarming as you run? After you hit the acknowledge or clear button?
  4. Louay

    Louay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar
    Thanks a lot captain, I'll check the sender and let you know!
  5. Louay

    Louay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar
    The alarm sound stops as I hit the knowledge button but they remain appearing in the alarm page.
  6. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    I have the same CLC6.3. Hit reset and once your engine has been turned off and restarted you should not see the alarm(s) anymore. If you do its probably another issue like the sensor wires loose, bad sensors although not likely all 4 would go at same time.

    After hurricane Irma both my displays had water in them. How, I have no idea as they were covered with tape. I removed them and just had them rebuilt. New they are $6500 a piece. One is having the fault light flash & beep all the time. Have been trying to track down the cause even swapping the two mmds boxes in engine room and connections on back of displays.
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2017
  7. Bob Fino

    Bob Fino New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia beach
    Hello, having similar issue with my port monitor. The port monitor has no readings but does light up so there is power just no readings. I took the starboard wire and connected it to the port monitor and the monitor worked. So i figured it was a bad cable. I changed the cable and still no reading. The fault light is blinking. Is there a reset or any other suggestion would be appreciated. Thank you
  8. motoryachtlover

    motoryachtlover Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    smithfield, VA
    I wish I could remember where and who but I recently read about a person who is rebuilding these displays for for less money than replacing them from MAN. Might have been on the Hull Truth forum.
  9. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    10,199
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    There is an alarm monitoring circuit board in the large black MAN box that is in the engine room that is what sends the signal to the display. Chances are that if your display is working on the other side and you changed the cable, that the board itself either popped out a little (similar to a computer monitor card for a computer) or is bad. You could try pulling it out and reseating it.
  10. 101TUG

    101TUG Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    ST Barth
    I don't know with engine series you have onboard but if you have commun rail you need to inspect the water sensor under the big fuel filter the wire may be twisted and short circuit

    Hugues
  11. Bonner Upshaw

    Bonner Upshaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Michigan
    I m getting the EDC fault as well as all of the others and it won’t let me start my starboard engine. I had some water in my fuel that was polished yesterday and started fine after. This morning I went to start it and it won’t even turn over and ideas
  12. Bonner Upshaw

    Bonner Upshaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Michigan
    2007 1350 mans
  13. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    10,199
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Try turning the battery switches to the engines off for 10 minutes and then turning them on. Short of that fixing it, you're going to have to call a dealer out with a laptop.
  14. Bonner Upshaw

    Bonner Upshaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thank you
  15. Bonner Upshaw

    Bonner Upshaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Michigan
    I just spoke to a couple mechanics and they basically said it’s the Engine control computer is there anywhere stateside to possibly get one as it is my understanding it takes two weeks to come from Germany
  16. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    10,199
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Check Marine Diesel Specialists in Fort Lauderdale or Scott Marine Power. MDS stocks a lot of MAN stuff.
  17. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,740
    Location:
    Jax FL
    https://www.performancediesel.com/

Share This Page