Discussion in 'General Sailing Discussion' started by kevin8tor, Mar 13, 2020.
Svea & Topaz make serious contact in Antigua Superyacht Challenge:
That's not contact. That's an act of war.
I saw that earlier today. It looks like Topaz’s mast stayed up which is pretty amazing since you can see the back stay snapping. Gota love these long overhangs which cushioned the blow
it looks like the helmsman on Svea was going to pass very close and was taken by surprise by Topaz turning to starboar, maybe even tacking, kicking their stern out right before the hit.
NASCAR - if you ain’t rubbing , you ain’t racing !
No SHIP. Did the MOB get speared?
That was not good.
But THAT was more that rubbing.
This. Like the 10' of motorhome I have behind the rear axle. Be interesting to hear the ruling on that one.
My Cuz used to skipper Endeavour, all the new boats now want to look like the Big Man. Poor class shown by the owners.
Oh, and after beating Dennis Conner in my clapped-out little boat, both he and owner Sandy Mayer chased me up the road, shaking their fists. Yacht racing, real classy.
Ever watch the movie "Wind" ? A classic re Conner.
Yes, I think my brother was an extra in one scene.
Man, there's nothing afloat quite as beautiful as a J Class.
That said... YIKES!
Do I recall correctly a classic painting of 4 of the vintage big boys sailing west on LI sound?
There's a lot of good art from those days......
I will always remember the first time I saw a J, that was around 1989 or 1990 in st Barths for the Route du Rose an informal transat rally race sponsors by provence wine makers. It would culminate in a round the island regatta in December And drinking a lot of rose . What a sight. She had just been rebuilt by Elizabeth Meyer and they didn’t even officially race in the round the island regatta just be safe. Times have changed I guess now these guys race hard!
Wouldn't Rule 12 apply?: Starboard tack is stand-on.
But there's probably a racing rule that applies too - and I'm not a racer. . .
In any racing the difference between a brilliant move and a disaster is about 1 inch.
Not a Racer either: Tried once, 1987 Foxy’s Wooden Boat Regatta, won my class and got promptly disqualified as I had started in the wrong class..
Starboard tack applies to racing as well. Many a race has been decided on that rule.
Yes, SB tack applies. There's also a rule that you can't make a sudden move to cause a collision. Tacking and pivoting the ass end of you vessel into the path of a give way vessel that would have cleared had you maintained course and at that moment had no way to avoid said collision is not necessarily something you get away with.
Let's assume tight water with vessels required to operate in close proximity..... Now imagine two powerboats P/SB and one as the stand on vessel going hard astern right as he is about to clear the give way vessel...... Had he maintained course and speed things would have been fine, but by going hard astern he puts the give way vessel in a position they can't get out of....is that OK?
Well, of course not. Rule 17.
But in the video, had the vessel not altered course to starboard, it appears that a collision would still have taken place. The vessel on the port tack needed to alter course to starboard to clear, but because of the sail probably didn't see the starboard tack vessel.