Click for Walker Click for Nordhavn Click for Mag Bay Click for Seacoast Click for Llebroc

HD Antenna

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Beau, Jun 8, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. love2speed

    love2speed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    So if I get a D to A converter, will my flying saucer style Glomex TV antenna get any signal? I thought all broadcasters moved to digital broadcasting so I'm assuming that my old (2006) Glomex TV antenna won't "read" digital signals?
  2. ranger42c

    ranger42c Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    South River, Chesapeake Bay

    If your Glomex worked fine before, it will continue to do so. (Our Glomex is from 2002, works fine with current over-the-air TV signals.)

    The antenna doesn't "read" the signals. All that happens in the signal processor, which is in the TV for analog signals, and would now be augmented by the processor in the D-to-A converter.

    Picture quality with the D-to-A converter will be about what you had before, 640x480 pixels. You will not see "HD" quality picture (720p or 1080p).

    Your Glomex antenna and a new HD digital TV will give you HD quality picture.

    -Chris
  3. love2speed

    love2speed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Thanks for the info Chris, all makes sense now!