Click for Apollonian Click for JetForums Click for Lurssen Click for Westport Click for Cross

Half of my AC panel is out

Discussion in 'Luhrs Yacht' started by Rscriv, Apr 8, 2021.

  1. Worthy vessel

    Worthy vessel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Sarasota
    I know some Tiara's have both a 50 amp and a 30 amp shore power cords.
    Anyone have experience with that?
  2. mapism

    mapism Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Sardinia
    Hence my suggestion to check with the marina first.
    After all, they should be even more interested than boaters to avoid setting a pedestal on fire.
  3. mapism

    mapism Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Sardinia
    Are you saying that because you know that's how the Tiara 4400 AC panel is arranged?
    The OP photo is of a Luhrs, not of the boat worthy vessel is looking at...
  4. cleanslate

    cleanslate Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    At my slip I’m plugged into 2-30amp 120 V outlets going to a Hubble box and turns it all into 50 amp 120 V into my boat.
    I then have two separate legs coming into my boat to the breaker panel ;
    A side 120volt and B side120volt.
    All of my equipment is 120 V AC.

    See if your marina can run another 30 amp outlet and get a splitter box like I have so you can plug your 50 amp cord into the splitter box.

    That being said, what the others have said only certain items will work with just 30 amps coming in , not a good idea. you want 50 amps coming in and everything operational.

    Perhaps you can grab another 30 amps from another slip nearby?
  5. Maxwell

    Maxwell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Door County, WI
    Our Tiara has both 30A and 50A receptacles. I've only used the 30A a handful of times when that is all that was available. I just managed the power only running the charger and 1 AC unit at a time etc and it was fine.
  6. cleanslate

    cleanslate Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Does your boat have two 30amp and one 50 amp inlets ? Or just one 30 and one 50?
    Just wondering.
  7. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Were past the O P, a tag along post starting @ #12..
  8. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,891
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ralph posted a picture of a panel from a 2005 44' Tiara Soverien (post #16). I have run one, maybe 2 of those boats before, and currently care for a 2003 40' Tiara open. The left 2 rows of breakers are line 1, the right 2 rows are line 2. The 30 amp powers line 1, so yes you can run a/c's and battery charger, but can overload it easily if you run too much stuff.
  9. Worthy vessel

    Worthy vessel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Sarasota
    That's exactly what I wanted to know. There is only one 30 amp outlet available. Not my home slip but a place we frequent often, so I can't change that.
    Thanks Capt J!
  10. Maxwell

    Maxwell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Door County, WI
    It has a single 30 and a single 50.
  11. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Left 2 rows have all the A/Cs on it? And battery chargers? On a 30A line?
    Has to be a better matrix.
  12. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,891
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    YUP, Tiara isn't too bright when it comes to balancing the load. I had a new one melt the wires behind the panel because all of the A/C's were cranking full blast and seakeeper spooling up on a 43' LS last year.
  13. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    All the more caution for Maxwell to think about. Probably battery chargers only IMO.
    I did notice that the lower panel, included all the DCv lights.
  14. mapism

    mapism Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Sardinia
    Fair enough, I didn't understand that CR pic was referred to the same boat WV is interested in.
    Not the smarter electrical panel I've ever seen, to put it politely.
    In fact, it takes a serious design defect to melt wires inside it, regardless of how the shore power is connected.
  15. Joe McKairnes

    Joe McKairnes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    lacey twp NJ
    Play it safe - find the break in the 120V leg and fix it. It's either the cord or the receptacle on the dock.....most likely the cord.
  16. DOCKMASTER

    DOCKMASTER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Ketchikan, Alaska
    It can also be one of the plug ends on the shore power cord. Twist locks are notorious for not making good, solid connections. After having two plugs that showed signs of arcing and a friend that had one catch fire I ditched the twist lock and went with a 50amp Smart Plug. I'm very happy with it compared to the twist lock.
  17. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Problem is not necessarily the plug on your cord but is often corrosion or arcing on the pedestal receptacles. Age, corrosion, idiots that disconnect under load, or people letting a friend plug in the shower power cord. Actually the twist lock should be called “smart plugs” and the smart plug called “dummy plug” :)

    I burned a pin on a brand new 100 amp plug last year because the receptacle was damaged. Only took a few days... and those pins are heavy duty
  18. Worthy vessel

    Worthy vessel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Sarasota
    We looked at the 2008 Tiara 43
    It has a 240v 50 amp shore cord which splits into 2 120v legs in the boat.
    All appliances are 120v
    If I use a 30amp 120v male to a 50amp 240v female adaptor to plug into a 30 amp pedestal what will run on the boat?
    Thank you all.
  19. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Do the math... on 30 amp You ll run one AC , batt charger, fridge and maybe an ice maker.
  20. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Your battery chargers and fridge.
    If you have not taken the hint, Doing what you want is unsafe and for emergency use only.
    Ad the start up amperes for your appliances. The #10 wire in the extension cord (shore power cord) and the connectors are not to be trusted drawing that amount of current continuously.
    Could be a reminder why the factory installed two legs @ 50Amps.
    Nobody here is going to tell you it's safe or you can do it.

    I doubt your insurance company is going to pay any claim also.