Click for Walker Click for Seacoast Click for Dockmate Click for Abeking Click for Ocean Alexander

Genset load issue

Discussion in 'Generators' started by Capt Bill11, Mar 30, 2019.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. PacBlue

    PacBlue Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Location:
    Dana Point, Ca
  2. Danvilletim

    Danvilletim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    isleton, ca
    A month ago before the back end rebuild it has to cool for an hour plus. After the rebuild it can be reset and it will turn right back on and hold a load for another hour plus.

    I think captholi might be right about it being one of the control circuits. Perhaps multiple problems. But not being able to reproduce it sucks. Starboard Marine did the work and on budget and have been at the boat multiple days to try to reproduce.
  3. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,274
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Has the engine room been hot during their testing?
  4. Capt Bill11

    Capt Bill11 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale FL
    This is what fixed my friends gen problem:

    “ 161 amps and 58.7 HZ. At 155 amps we were at 59.2 HZ which is just fine. At no load we are set at 62.5 HZ.
    Ronnie from RPM flew in today to adjust governors and then HZ. A fairly long back and forth affair but he finally got it about perfect. I am really happy. Now I can run one generator at almost all times versus both all the time.”
  5. Marc di Maria

    Marc di Maria New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Marseille
    Sure, sounds like a good question
  6. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,072
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Another thing that a lot of Captains/Engineers forget on the larger yachts. When the chiller HE's get dirty, the chillers pull a lot more amps than when they're clean.
  7. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,989
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    on ours it doesn’t make a difference. Forgot what size they are, I think 72k btu each. I checked and before and after descaling last year and no change.