Click for Abeking Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Furuno Click for Westport Click for Burger

Flybridge recommendation

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by Journeyman, Jan 12, 2020.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Journeyman

Journeyman New Member

I have been boating for 40 years+ and recently piloted my 37 foot express cruiser from Massachusetts to southern Florida. (It was a fantastic 12 day trip!!) I am interested in something a bit larger that my wife and I could live on and travel to the Keys, Bahamas, back up north, etc and am looking in the 45-52 foot range. I want to move away from an express style so we can have more living space above the water line, but also want to maintain speed so am not interested in a trawler. I believe a late model used Flybridge is the best choice for me. I’ve looked at sea ray, Sabre, absolute, azimut, prestige, princess, Monte Carlo, etc. and have read a lot of negative comments on forums like this. I believe that the Sea Ray 51 Fly would be a good choice, but have read so many negative comments about the Zeus system that I am not interested in that.

I would love to see your thoughts and recommendations on what the best overall choice (brand, propulsion, etc) would be for the needs I’ve described above. Thank you so much.
  2. RER

RER Senior Member

"late model" has a different meaning to different people. Model year range and price range would help.
  3. Journeyman

Journeyman New Member

Thanks RER,
    Model year range - 2014 to present
    Price range - $750k to $950k
  4. KoffeeCruising

KoffeeCruising Member

Great sweet spot. My 54 Flybridge MY is either the biggest small boat or the smallest big boat that one person or couple can operate, but also have guests. We live on the Flybridge with its grill, fridge, ice maker, table/eating area. I only drive from inside when it’s raining.