Click for Walker Click for Lurssen List Your Boat Click for Ocean Alexander Click for JetForums

European shore power

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Lambros, Jul 9, 2021.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Lambros

    Lambros New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Greece
    Hi all, i bought a boat in the states and shipped it to Europe. What changes need to be made as far as the shore power? Thanks
  2. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,558
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Do you really expect intelligent answers if you don’t bother tell us whether you bought a 20 foot bow rider, a 55’ sportfish or a 120’ yacht?
  3. Lambros

    Lambros New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Greece
    Sorry guys its a Sunseeker 63 Manhattan
  4. Ken Bracewell

    Ken Bracewell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Location:
    Somewhere Sunny
    The simplest solution, if there is space available, is to install a shore power converter. Such as
    www.aseapower.com although there are other brands too
  5. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,804
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I would also call Sunseeker in Poole with the HIN and ask them for suggestions.
  6. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,558
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    You need to convert both voltage but also frequency which the tricky part. As Ken said there are a few options. If the boat is already over there, you need to contact local electrical specialists so you get the best service in the future. Being the Sunseeker, the factory should be able to assist as well and make recommendations
  7. Lambros

    Lambros New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Greece
    Thanks guys, i put a call into Sunseeker
  8. BRyachts

    BRyachts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    .
    This.

    Easier and better to just add a single converter to run the whole boat.

    If you try to start changing individual components or systems it'll be a pain, especially going from 60hz to 50. (Some equipment doesn't mind going up from 50 to 60)