Click for Perko Click for Glendinning Click for Mulder Click for Burger Click for Mulder

Eastbay 55 vs Vicem 58 Classic

Discussion in 'General Downeast Dayboat Discussion' started by dshenson, Mar 25, 2012.

1. dshenson

dshenson New Member

Any views out there as to which is the better one? I have a Grand Banks Eastbay 46SX today and it's a little small for us. We want two decent sized staterooms and are hooked on the Downeast Style. The boats are roughly the same price. We like the interior better on the Vicem, but the GB is more prevalent where we live (Northeast US) and likely to be easier to service.

Opinions?
  2. nilo

nilo Senior Member

vicem vs eastbay

i do not have any experience with east bays, but i have a vicem 51, which i've been using since 2001. i am a 3 boat owner, the vicem (posted here http://www.yachtforums.com/forums/g...cnic-lobster-boats-hinckley-san-juan-etc.html), a semidisplacement yacht from moonen (reviewed; Review: Moonen 94' "Nilo" - YachtForums.Com) and a sailing yacht (Xc 45 ยท The new Future Cruising Range). the reason i am posting these is not to boast but to give you some back ground of my experience.

vicem is still going fine and i had no problems of consideration. because she is build as cold molded wood she is very strong and i am also very satisfied with the way she handles and behaves at sea.

i believe 58 offers much more in space then the east bay. i have no experience with vicem's u.s. service, but i had no difficulties in getting response from the company. i have supervised the build closely and i can state that they try to do a good job and they have quite a number of boats in the u.s. as well. i believe the u.s. has been their major market in number of sales.

so, if you choose the vicem you may have a good experience with the boat. if you have any specific questions, pls do not hesitate to ask.

p.s.; i have no ties with the company, i am just an owner.
  3. dshenson

dshenson New Member