Click for Nordhavn Click for Cross Click for Cheoy Lee Click for JetForums Click for Abeking

DDEC 6v92 no electronic throttle control

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Hyak, Jun 16, 2014.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    Lost throttle response on DDEC 6v92
    First the starboard motor lost electronic control. Now both sticks are dead. Starts great but will not shift into gear on port or starboard. Starboard ECM reads 12.5 v. Port reads 11.9. 12 volt battery charger always runs when breaker is on. Just topped off 12 volt bat bank with distiller water.

    Had to run home on emergency controls. How can I get ECM throttle control back...
  2. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,329
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I would load test the bank the batteries are on. Next you're going to have to have someone plug in the system to a laptop and test the system. I would check any breakers for the DDEC controls in the engine room before getting a tech out.
  3. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    I assume thats your 12Vdc readings no load. AND No charger. If mains were running, No alternator also.
    Next, Yout 6v92s are 12 or 24Vdc? Your DDEc requirements are 12 or 24Vdc?
    IF you have a 12Vdc system, You have to maintain a solid 12.5 to 13 Vdc to the ECUs.
    As Skippy J suggested, check for tripped breakers. Find out why you have low B+.
    I'd trip too at 11.5Vdc.
  4. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    Ill get to those tests.

    Just so you know. Every breaker has been checked to see that they havnt tripped. No luck. All still on. Any other suggestions. All pointing toward a voltage issue.
  5. K1W1

    K1W1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,390
    Location:
    My Office
    How much water did you have to add once you thought there might be a problem?

    Have or can you measure the electrolyte of the batteries with a hydrometer?

    This will tell you reasonably well if the battery electrolyte is "charged"

    Does the voltage vary with the chargers on and off?

    There is a wee table about half way down this links page that has a table you might find useful.

    http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article/how_to_measure_state_of_charge
  6. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    6v92 voltage issue

    When i get back home thurs i will be testing all of the above
    I added about 3/4 of a gallon of distilled water to the 3 batteries. 3/4was for all 3 not each.

    I turned the 12v charger back on for 3 hours but it was still running so I shut it off. I thought by then it would have charged the bank.

    But no more guess work. I will test all voltage with and without batt charger on and hopefully I can troubleshoot this nightmare
  7. Bamboo

    Bamboo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    Palm Beach, FL
    How old are the batteries? Are they 8D? If they are more than 3 years old they are suspect; most last 3-5 years.
  8. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    I dont know how old they are. They were clearly low on fluid. And the 12 v charger always seems to be trying to charge. My first step will be to replace the batts in 12v bank. And proceed from there
  9. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,329
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    You're first step should be to break them apart and load test every single one of them. But if they look old, you might as well change them all. I generally only get 3 years out of batteries (lead-acid). Next step would be to check the charger for both AC and DC voltage. If the DDEC voltage drops, many items in the DDEC system will not run.
  10. K1W1

    K1W1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,390
    Location:
    My Office
    Hi,

    When you do get this figured out please post back with the result.

    It will help someone else with the same problem who searched the DB for a result later on.
  11. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    6V92 Voltage issue

    I will absolutely update the forum on my results..Looks like tomorrow is the day i will have tim eto attack this voltage monster..Stay tuned and thanks evryone for the advice.
  12. DOCKMASTER

    DOCKMASTER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Ketchikan, Alaska
    I had a similiar issue with my controls on 12v92 DDEC. Mine turned out to be a plug had come loose where everything plugs into the main ECU panel. Did you get any alarms on your monitor? If you're voltageis low enough to cause controls to disengage then you should have gotten a low voltage alarm long before they dropped out on you.
    Also, check your shaft tach p/u and indicators. The DDEC's do funny things if they don't get a good reading from the shaft tachs.
  13. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    Exactly what cable was loose? We unplugged and replugged every cable in and out of the main and back up ecms.

    To update this forum:

    We ripped through the boat yesterday and sorry to say I still have dead throttle sticks. We swapped out all 12v bank batteries for new fully charged deep cycles. We tested the voltage from 12v bank. 24v bank. 12v and 24v chargers and 12v and 24v alternators. All passed with flying colors.

    We lifted the action station panel (3 buttons active, sync, low idle) looking for a loose wire. Nothing. Basically the 3 buttons act as if they dead although they lite up.
    Main DDEC displays show transmission position of neutral but will not change when throttle position is moved. Emergency back up cable controls work when emergency switch is flipped but the last time we flipped the switch the motors rpm raced as if the engine had remembered the last command sent to it by DDEC THROTTLE.

    I have a Detroit specialist coming out mid next week to diagnose. Time for the pros. This Captain needs help
  14. DOCKMASTER

    DOCKMASTER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Ketchikan, Alaska
    The plug that has come loose on mine twice now is the Port Troll valve actuator plug on the main panel. When it comes loose the engine thinks the troll valve is engaged and I have no throttle. But I received an alarm indicating the problem.

    I have also heard there can be problems with the push buttons (station active, low idle, troll) whereby the light comes on but it is not actually working.

    I don't know if any of this helps or not. I'm sure your DDEC tech will find the problem. Please let us know what the issue was and the soultion when you are done.
  15. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,329
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Once you hook the computer up to it, you should be able to find the problem pretty quickly.
  16. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Any Updates?
  17. Hyak

    Hyak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Massapequa NY
    Ok. So the results are in. The reason i had no throttle response was due to a burnt out ( for whatever reason) emergency backup power module. The EBPM is responsible for sending a 24 volt signal to each gear actuator. My Viking DDeC system is 90% 12v operation. Except for the gear actuators which are 24v. The new EBPM is being installed this week.

    Basically there was 24v going into the Emergency Backup Power Module but only 12v coming out of the box.
    Also the EBPM is not emergency at all. Its an essential part of transmission operation. So the name on the black box (located next to ERIM) "emergency" isnt really clear.

    The throttles are sending the proper command. The EBPM just couldnt comply. The part is $1300
  18. K1W1

    K1W1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,390
    Location:
    My Office
    Hi,

    Thanks for posting back with the result, it will help others searching for the same problem in the future.

    It is good to read that you got it nailed and that those nails were not earth shatteringly expensive.
  19. wdrzal

    wdrzal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Lead acid batteries should be topped off with battery acid, not distilled water.

    Walt
  20. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,329
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Battery acid does not evaporate, only the water in the battery acid evaporates. Adding battery acid to them would make the acid too concentrated.