Click for Fendertex Click for Ocean Alexander Click for JetForums Click for Lurssen Click for Walker

DDC display question

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Capt Bill11, Oct 22, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Capt Bill11

    Capt Bill11 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale FL
    Does anybody know how to reset the "trip fuel used" and "trip hours" displays on this older type of DDC display shown in the picture? Thanks.

    Attached Files:

  2. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,323
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I cannot remember, but I don't think that they are resetable on the earlier versions. On the newer versions you held down two buttons at the same time and then a screen popped up and you hit a different button to reset it, but I cannot remember which ones they were.
  3. Capt Bill11

    Capt Bill11 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale FL
    Thanks J. I was hoping they are resettable based on the fact that you can display total hours and total fuel or trip hours and trip fuel. It would seem to me that if you were not able to zero out the trip displays they would be redundant and pointless. But you never know they may well be both. :(
  4. PacBlue

    PacBlue Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Dana Point, Ca
    Try this:

    Press MENU, press SCROLL (twice?) to PROGRAMMING CHOICES, then SELECT.

    You will have a list of items when you scroll down. RESET TRIP HOURS and RESET TRIP FUEL USED should be among the first selections.

    Press SELECT for RESET TRIP HOURS or RESET TRIP FUEL USED, and the word SURE should appear. Press SELECT to set the quantity to zero, otherwise press CLEAR to go on to the next item.
  5. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I m not familiar enough with those DD system but on the early cat monitors you cannot reset the fuel totals even though their is a reset function. I asked Cat and you need upgrade the software to enable reset.. Over $1000... No thanks I ll stick with writing the totalsin the log book :)
  6. Donzi 54

    Donzi 54 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Point Pleasant, NJ & Morehead City, NC
    PacBlue as stated above has it correct
  7. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Total fuel use is kind of like hours on the motors. In some of the old circles, it really is the measure for maintenance and rebuilds.
    There still should be a trip reset.
  8. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,323
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    No, on some of the Caterpillar engines such as the 3412's, C 30's, older C32's and others, you cannot reset the trip fuel or trip hours in the display. The Caterpillar computer does not allow you to reset the trip.......like you can and should be able to like on the C15's, C18's etc etc.....
  9. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    So, total fuel and trip would be the same numbers? until ??
  10. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,323
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Yes, until infinity. The only way you can reset the TRIP fuel and hours on those engines I mentioned is to go in with the CAT dealers laptop and reset them.
  11. Capt Bill11

    Capt Bill11 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale FL
    Thanks for the replies. Been out of touch till we got into Panama City, Panama and on the internet just now. Finally found the manual on board for the displays and PacBlue is correct, that is how it's done.