Click for Mag Bay Click for Westport Click for Lurssen Click for Abeking Click for Burger

Daylight Savings Time (DST) in the U.S.

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Arniev, Mar 8, 2007.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CaptTom

    CaptTom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Location:
    Palm Beach to Ft Lauderdale
    Carl,
    Black electrical tape is no good. I put it over my ears, but I can still hear my wife. LoL
    Maybe you should change the clock at the DOS prompt, using the TIME command. Now you youngens out there may not know what a DOS prompt is. Go ask your gran-pappy.
  2. Arniev

    Arniev Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Monterey, CA, USA
    Carl,
    That could work. Don't forget to REBOOT after doing the procedure.
    Thanks Capt Tom.
    Arnie
    :)
  3. Kevin

    Kevin YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,662
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Arnie (or anyone else): Any other ideas how to keep my PDA on the right time? My computer is up to date according to the Microsoft site, and my computer's clock has been a-ok since this whole mess started. My PDA however keeps reverting one hour backwards. :confused:
  4. K1W1

    K1W1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,390
    Location:
    My Office
    Hi,

    Can you set your PDA to a time zone 1 hour less then the time zone you are in.

    By this I mean if you see an option in the setup to set it say 4 hrs behind GMT or UTC for where you are just set it for 3 hrs behind GMT/UTC.

    (I am using these hour figures because I am assuming you are on or near the Canadian East Coast)
  5. Arniev

    Arniev Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Monterey, CA, USA
    Hi, Kevin.
    Is there a way for you to -reset- your PDA's software? Most PDA's can be reset. Once you reset it, you will be asked to enter the time manually ... just like you did the first time you used your PDA.
    Hope this works.
    Arnie
    :)
  6. Kevin

    Kevin YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,662
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Kiwi, I tried that, but the problem was that all my appointments were then shifted an hour cause the PDA believes they were booked in the GMT-5 time zone, not the GMT-4. So, it wasn't a viable solution.

    Arnie, I tried that as well, didn't work.

    The good news (I think) is that I upgraded my Active-Sync last night to v4.5 from the MS site and so far (fingers crossed) it seems to be keeping the time I entered manually instead of always updating when I told it not to. Let's hope it sticks now.

    Thanks guys!
  7. Kevin

    Kevin YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,662
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Hey Alan,

    Thanks for asking. Yeah, I did finally figure it out. It was an update to ym Active-Sync program that finally solved the annoyance. All is good now. :)