Click for Nordhavn Click for Abeking Click for Nordhavn Click for Mag Bay Click for Lurssen

CZone

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Marblehead01945, Apr 3, 2021.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Marblehead01945

    Marblehead01945 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Marblehead
    All,
    Are there any people using boats with CZone control? I'd like to get some experiences or opinions on using the system and reliability etc.

    Regards to the list,
    Roger
  2. Alzira II

    Alzira II Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    We sell about 60 boats a year with it on them. It works pretty well. Better than medallion or murphy controls. I have heard of horror stories in some builds but I think that has to do more with the boat manufacturer wiring it.
  3. Marblehead01945

    Marblehead01945 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Marblehead
    wow the silence is deafening....that being said, what are people using in the 60-100foot range for electrical switching? It seems modern yachts need a way of easily switching multiple banks of circuits from Generator to Shore and back again without having to go through multiple panels for power sequencing etc. Whats the current state of art that is robust and reliable?
  4. GPO

    GPO Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    West Vancouver, British Columbia
    I don’t have CZone on my Riviera (2009 build) but friends with newer Rivs have CZone and are pleased with how it manages their electrical systems. Personally I’ve only had a demo on a Riv during a sea trial but from that brief experience I was impressed. Of course it was set up by a knowledgeable person who did the commissioning. There’s a learning curve but once you have your preferred settings programmed it’s pretty slick.

    Alzira II makes a good point about installations. Riviera, for example has extensive experience with CZone, others’ experience may vary.
  5. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,936
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Generally you have a couple of breakers and selector switches all on the same electrical panel. All of this remote switching of shorepower, I've had many issues with bad relays and stuck/bad contactors and crap to try to hunt down the replacement parts etc.
  6. Mjdap1972

    Mjdap1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    New hope pa
    We have a 2017 Riviera 445 SUV with CZONE. The system works well, have adjusted to using it for DC operations since it acts as the DC panel. I do like the ability to combine systems for different modes and the ability to visually see usage of given circuits. I do miss the optics of a switched DC panel, but I am getting used to it. We have had the boat for 3 years. The idea of a networked backbone for equipment and circuits allows for better human interface. The system has not failed us yet.
  7. GPO

    GPO Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    West Vancouver, British Columbia
  8. Marblehead01945

    Marblehead01945 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Marblehead
    I guess my big question is if the system is rock solid and how does it handle switching from lets say shore power to generator and back again.
  9. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,936
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I haven't had any issues with it on any of the Riviera's that I've run. I have found their menu to be a little clunky as far as going through the pages. But I guess once you know it, you know it.