Click for Walker Click for Abeking Click for Mulder Click for Perko Click for Mulder

Composite Vs. Aluminum Vs. Steel

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Crewchie, Sep 8, 2006.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Crewchie

Crewchie New Member

I'm sure this has been discussed ad nausium but I am just beginning my research into the purchase of a yacht in the 150' to 170' range and I would appreciate knowing some of the pros and cons of the basic construction materials.
  2. AMG

AMG YF Moderator

Hi Crewchie,

Are you looking to build or to buy a used yacht and what are your ideas of cruising speed and range?
  3. Crewchie

Crewchie New Member

I am looking to buy new. Cruising range is more important than cruising speed.
  4. Loren Schweizer

Loren Schweizer YF Associate Writer

Seems to me that a 150-170' with range in mind all but says steel hull at the very least with aluminum superstructure to keep the metacentric height number (GM) reasonable.
  5. AMG

AMG YF Moderator

I agree with Loren, steel is the natural choice for the hull, but today you can also build with modern aluminium, like Alustar, to the same strength. Superstructure can be in composite as well but such considerations has to do with the final design.
  6. Yacht News

Yacht News YF News Editor