Click for Nordhavn Click for Westport Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mag Bay Click for YF Listing Service

Canadian equivalencies?

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by canadianEng, Jul 7, 2011.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. canadianEng

canadianEng New Member

Hello

I've been trying to research info on obtaining an equivalencies for a Canadian 4th class Marine Engineering license to a yacht license.

I will be completing Maritime school in Canada shortly, and currently hold an Engine Room Rating license. Once school is finished I will hold exemptions to 2nd Eng, only required to complete Orals and EK.

I have full STCW training for officers, marine medical , and a Canadian discharge book, along with a passport.

I have no previous yacht experience, however I have sea time primarily on medium speed plants, transporting petro products and bulk goods such as coal/wheat/iron etc.

Any info in regards to steps I should take in obtaining my Y license, and likelihood of employment holding my current credentials
  2. Marmot

Marmot Senior Member

You don't need a "Y" license.

Go to the websites of the maritime authorities of the major yacht flags; Cayman Islands, Marshall Islands, and read their notices regarding endorsement of other authority's certificates and the issuance of "certificates of equivalent competency."

If you are determined to contribute money to the UK MCA, visit their website and download the application for an MCA CeC.
  3. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

He/She can continue on the non yacht route with the UKMCA as they are responsible for all CoC's not just the yacht endorsed ones
  4. canadianEng

canadianEng New Member

Hello

If im not required to have a Y license, and a CoE will be sufficient. What position in regards to Y ranking would a 4th eng CoE employ under?

And, would my Engine Room Rating endorsement qualify me right now to work a non licensed position?

Thank you for the reply
  5. Marmot