Click for Westport Click for Mulder Click for Glendinning Click for Cross Click for Nordhavn

Cadet on a superyacht to become OOW

Discussion in 'Licensing & Education' started by Sambo42, Aug 21, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Sambo42

Sambo42 New Member

Hello everybody!

I am new here. I know this isn't the first thread treating this subject, but I think my question is more specific.

I am a 22 years old, third year student at the Antwerp Maritime Academy (Belgium). I am studying 'Nautical Sciences', and want to become a deck officer. I have some working experience on ships as a cadet/trainee. Once on a passenger vessel from La Romana (Dominican Republic) to Lisbon (Portugal) for about 11 days, on a LPG carrier from Terneuzen (The Netherlands) to Morocco and Algeria for about 4 weeks and on a trailing suction hopper dredger in Germany for about 2 weeks. Both navigation and maintenance were part of the job.

This year I will finish my third year (I still have to do some exams) and get my STCW Operational Level together with my Bachelor’s Degree in Nautical Sciences. After this year I will finish my fourth year and receive my Master's Degree in Nautical Sciences and my STCW Management Level (necessary to become Master on ships without limitations).
    I already have completed most trainings such as basic safety, basic firefighting, advanced firefighting and I already have my GMDSS Global Operator Certificate.
    This summer (from July 15th till August 14th) I was working on a 45 metres passenger vessel, which sails between Nieuwpoort and Oostende (Belgian coast - North Sea) as a waiter. I saw M/Y Alumercia overthere, its berth was next to ours. It was really an amazing yacht. Yesterday and today I saw M/Y Turmoil, which was visiting Antwerp (Belgium), which was even bigger and much more luxurous, but I prefer the Alumercia.