Click for Burger Click for YF Listing Service Click for Cross Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Mulder

Becoming a yacht engineer

Discussion in 'Licensing & Education' started by WayneC, Sep 5, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. WayneC

WayneC New Member

Hi everyone

I'm new to Yacht Forums and first time posting so a little nervous (as you do lol)

I've gathered an interest in yachts and in particular working on them as a engineer. Problem is I can't find any leads on the steps of becoming one.

I'm live in the London, UK and 21 years old so hopefully time is on my side

Thanks in advance to any replies posted

WayneC
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Welcome to YF.

Do you have a trade/ experience or anything to offer other than a wish to become an Engineer?

What interests you more about engineering than Deck?
  3. WayneC

WayneC New Member

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Unfortunately I have no trade or experience on my side but the thought of repairing yachts seems a challenging and rewarding profession.

It's not everyday you come across yacht mechanical engineers and I've been able to gather they are quite in demand so why not help where it's needed
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

I do not want to be thought of as pissing on your fish and chips but have to say that you will have a tough road to hoe given you are starting from scratch now.

Can you get a job at a boatyard helping out to at least get some idea of what is what on a boat? Then try to get on one as a deckie and be willing to help the engineer or engineers wherever possible.

This is not going to be a 5 min route to riches but will be attainable with a lot of diligence and hard work plus a certain amount of luck along the way.
  5. AlfredZ

AlfredZ Senior Member

Hi there,
    Welcome aboard!
    You have too paths: