Click for Mag Bay Click for Llebroc Click for Cheoy Lee Click for Seacoast Click for Burger

Battery Question

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by CSkipR, Apr 20, 2013.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    I have 6 batteries total. 2 eng 4 house. They are wired in series for 24v.
    Each set of two is connected in series and the two sets of house batteries are wired parallel providing 24v for additional amperage. I think this is stated correctly.

    My question is if I want to get 12v power to run an stereo amplifier what would be the proper connection to the 4 house batteries?
  2. HTMO9

    HTMO9 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Europe
    I would use an 24 Volt / 12 Volt DC voltage changer. Thats what the truckdrivers use for the stereo systems in their 24 Volt trucks. Not expensive at all. And they even come with an inline fuse.

    Cheers
  3. walkinginshadow

    walkinginshadow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    sweden
    Don't wire to the battery, use 24/12 converter/charger.
    You can over load the two cells that is not use!
  4. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Okay what size amperage would this 24dc to 12vdc converter need to operate. The Clarion APX 480 amplifier states it has 80w per 4 channels, but 160w x 4 channels of continuous power. Which one of these number would be used to calculate the amperage. I'm figuring its either 30 or 60 amps needed, but not sure which one.
  5. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,767
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    It is common for for 24vdc systems to serve dual uses.
    I have worked on 24vdc mains with the bottom 12vdc serving the generator and older electronics. You may already have a 12vdc tap in use.
    Just make sure it's the bottom battery you use. All equipment at same (-) negative potential (ground).
    I understand the idea of a dc to dc converter and thoughts of discharging -recharging evenly. But theory VS simplicity would be the compromise.
    I run some 24vdc equipment off of the third battery on a 32vdc system.

    Now if your going plug in some 500 watt system, that uses battery cable to it's power supply and BOOM the windows off the beach house, that could be a different story.

    No worries
    ,rc
  6. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,767
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    It is a window shaker. Specs say 46 amps input required at max out put.
    Wow that's a bunch.
    Manual specs #10 wire. That may be a bit thin.

    Of interest, A picture points out the 12vdc input terminal screws on the box, but no where in the Specs in a min / max voltage requirement stated.
    Or, Is there 24vdc stereo equipment available?

    This could require another cup of coffee.
  7. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Okay got it done and everythings working fine. Used a 60amp 24 to 12v dc converter.
  8. Navatech

    Navatech New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    Wire thickness also depends on the length of the run! There are several wiring calculators on the web. Use one of them!

    I wouldn't think so. There's not enough of a market for it. If, one day, the automotive industry moves to 24 volt that will change rapidly.
  9. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,776
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Except for the fact that your boat already has a 12 volt bus bar, where you didn't have to add anything that Cabo puts on every Cabo for electronics. Aren't there 12 volt breakers on your main panel for electronics? There is a either a 12 volt bus bar directly behind your electrical panel, or on the foward bulkhead of the engine room.......

    If I remember correctly the generator is 12 volts.....but I may be mistaken on this as it's been a while since I've done any work on a 43' Cabo.
  10. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Capt J your memory is pretty good. There is a small 12v busbar behind the electrical panels although it isn't big enough to handle the amplifier and all those terminals are in use. Most of the electronics are 24v but I do have a few 12v. Actually I located a 60amp converter in the engine room and wired #6 wire directly to the 12v side.
    Up under the console there is a 120vac to 12vdc converter used on the FLIR and my number two transducer.