Click for YF Listing Service Click for YF Listing Service Click for Abeking Click for Northern Lights Click for Abeking

are steel hulls really that bad

Discussion in 'Chris Craft Roamer Yacht' started by jkenosh, Jul 17, 2010.

1. jkenosh

jkenosh New Member

im new to big boats and am looking to buy a chris craft, my wife wants a catalina 381 for 39900 but i want to buy a project boat and finish it myself, i found a 42 ft roamer with the fly bridge and 2 454 with some hull rot for 4500, he also has a older roamer that need a new upper deck with cummings diesels 4 sale, i like the gasser though, so we went to the boat dealer that has the catalina and he told my wife he would never buy a steel hulled boat because they are maintenence nightmares. Now i think the steel hulled boat if fixed properly would be better in rough water (i live on lake michigan) but this being my first big boat is a fiberglass boat better?
  2. Marmot

Marmot Senior Member

They can be even worse.
  3. Jim Reed

Jim Reed Member