Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Abeking Click for Lurssen Click for JetForums Click for Seacoast

AP 26 Simrad Autopilot Rate Compass ?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by CSkipR, Nov 25, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    I have looked through my boat for the rate compass and cannot locate it. I would think it would be located along centerline in one of the lower compartments but no luck. Any ideas on where they normally put them on a 43 Cabo.
    Thanks
  2. dennismc

    dennismc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    On my 43 Hatteras it is under the aft s/r bed just ahead of the rudder gear. Worst of all it has gone sideways...
  3. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Skip
    I found mine under my stateroom head, down low, stb, behind the stb shaft log. You may just have to follow da wire. It could be anywhere.
    It's a black plastic box about 5x5x5 inches, Single grey cable out a top corner almost 3/16 in dia.
    I think the data cable was only 5 meters on length so it can't be far.

    Are you having problems?

    Let us know where you find it,
    ,rc
  4. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    AP26 Simrad Rate Compass

    Okay had the electronics guy here today and we found the rate compass. It was located in the ceiling hatch of the master stateroom where all the TV & electronic equipment is located. It is approximately 3 ft away from everything else. We were not able to do a seatrial today so not sure if it's fixed. Try in a couple of days. Thanks for the help.
  5. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Seems to close to allot of noise. Was that a Cabo install?
    Your ship continues to make me think (rethink?).
  6. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Ap 26

    Simrad says it must be at least 1.7 ft from noise or something similar so its fine. The AP worked great for the first 3 years only this year have I experienced issues. If it still has the problem after sea trial we will replace the compass.
  7. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Can you give more details of the problems you were having? I use a similar computer and compass on my AP25.
  8. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,323
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Cabo does not install nor sell ANY electronics. They are all done on a dealer install level or by a third party vender hired by the dealer or end user. Hi Seas electronics does many of the electronics installs on a lot of Cabo's, since most of the Cabo dealers use Pipewelders for hard tops and towers.
  9. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    AP 26 Simrad Rate Compass

    Capt J is correct Cabo does none of the electronics. Pipewelder put on the flybridge and Hi Seas may have done some if of the electronics, not sure. I know a company in Ft. Myers did some of the electronics although not sure what. They are out of business.
  10. sunchaserv

    sunchaserv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Carefree, AZ
    Have you performed a "By the Simrad book" compass calibration? This year I was ready to get a new compass and did the AP 20 calibration. Voila, problem solved!
  11. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    At the dock yes but not on seatrial.
  12. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    There is a follow the circle compass setup that I have had to do a couple of times on my AP25. Usually after a long power out and after I messed up the setups and had to do a full reset.
    Not to fast and not to slow. The pilot will tell you you if your to fast. I did discover, the slower you go and still make progress, the better it works.
    I would assume your tech thought about this.
  13. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl
    Yes we are waiting for good enough weather to do this.
  14. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,420
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Hey Skip
    What was the outcome here? Swinging the pilot compass fix it or bigger problems?

    ,Ralph
  15. CSkipR

    CSkipR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    New Smyrna Beach, Fl

    Ralph,
    No turned out to be a problem with the wiring on the nema terminal block. Just got home from St. Augustine for a few days in the boat at City Marina. Had a great time there.
    Skip