Click for Nordhavn Click for Westport Click for Mag Bay Click for Fendertex Click for Abeking

AIS - How do I know its working?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Danvilletim, Feb 2, 2015.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Danvilletim

    Danvilletim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    isleton, ca
    We had a Furuno Class B AIS Transponder (FA-50) added to our world of NavNet about 2 months ago. Our first off shore trip this weekend ( 70 miles to Catalina) was a ton of fun, but the AIS didn't seem to update once we left San Diego.

    My wife was checking Marine Traffic iphone app and the boat didn't appear.. until we were back in San Diego and tied up. I confirmed this once I had cellular data in Avalon.

    1. Should the AIS be picked up by Marine Traffic App while 5-20 miles off the coast line?
    2. Is there any way to tell that your transponder is truly transmitting?
  2. NYCAP123

    NYCAP123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,318
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    It won't show on Marine Traffic unless you're within range of a land reporting station. Going to Catalina you'd certainly be out of range. I found that even along the east coast and through the Great Lakes M.T. coverage was scattered at best. They had us in Erie, Pa until we arrived in Mackinac Is, MI after cruising Lake Huron and Georgian Bay. The only way that I know of to check if you're broadcasting is to ask a passing boat whose signature you see. Marine Traffic has a subscription satelite service, which should give pretty complete coverage, but that costs.
  3. TeKeela

    TeKeela Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    NC
    Assuming you are receiving others and interfaced, wouldn't you have yourself as an AIS target on radar? Granted dead center but how would your navnet know it wasn't you if you were transmitting?
  4. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,097
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    If the transponder is within 5 to 20 nm from land, yes it should be picked up by the shore side marine traffic receiver.

    Now, for you to be able to access marine traffic data you may have to be closer so are within cellular range.

    right now on Boat Beacon I see traffic in the gulf stream as far as 50nm NE of miami
  5. Sea Gull

    Sea Gull Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    CT
    Look for an AIS target nearby. Call her on the VHF. Ask if she can "see" you on AIS. Also, the unit should give you an error message if it not transmitting.
  6. captainwjm

    captainwjm Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Islamorada , FL Keys
    Marine Traffic is limited to those few locations where the shore based recievers are. The information is not always displayed real time.

    Pascal, interestingly, I just recieved an email from MT that Charmer is in northeast Arkansas.
  7. Danvilletim

    Danvilletim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    isleton, ca
    I do see other boats off Avalon right now on MT. Though they are commercial. I read that there is a diagnostic setting if you plug in a laptop. Manual also states that antenna has to be 10 m from others antennas. I doubt mine is.

    I guess you could check the actual status while under way with a laptop. Probably with an iPad if I can Ethernet to a hub to the wireless router. You could also use that interface to enter destination and other trip variable info.