Click for Nordhavn Click for Nordhavn Click for Cross Click for Delta Click for Glendinning

58' Hatteras - How to add Sport Fish Deck?

Discussion in 'Hatteras Yacht' started by dellitron, Mar 9, 2005.

1. dellitron

dellitron New Member

Hi,

have a 1977 - 58' Hatteras - not a sportfish .. would like to ADD
    a deck or convert the the stern to enable sportfishing

.. ANY IDEAS ??

Thanks in advance

Paul - Fort Lauderdale

``Time is just one dam* thing after another'' :)
  2. Mike M

Mike M New Member

i am no expert, but i would recommend contacting a good yard like Marine Max or Bradford in Ft Lauderdale. I have seen many hatteras with fishing cockpit extensions. I think they are very nice to have, it makes swimmimng off the boat much easier as well as handling the lines. One issue to look into is that the length of the boat will be extended but the running gear will not be, (ie: props, shafts, rudders) so this may change the handling characteristics at sea.
    Mike
  3. YachtForums

YachtForums Administrator

Good point Mike! Additions have been added successfully for years, but this will definately alter the boats handling. Idle speed operation will not be effected, but cruising speeds will be... especially in varying water conditions. Planing speeds can result in excess lift at the transom, creating a broach.

If the new addition is "stepped", or recessed befind the original transom, you can offset some of the unwanted handling characteristics, however this area will continue to run wet and therefore it will have an overall effect on handling. There have been numerous cockpits added to Hatteras's over the years. As Mike suggested, choose a reputable yard with *specific* experience in performing this modification.