Click for Cheoy Lee Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Cross Click for Walker Click for Lurssen

50 Hatteras interior electrical weirdness

Discussion in 'Hatteras Yacht' started by CTdave, May 29, 2019.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    chasing my tail here
    My Hatteras 50c is having a strange issue. The port side salon lights don’t have power and the starboard master suite has no lights.
    On the main breaker panel, it has a breaker for port lights and outlets and another for the starboard. I’ve checked the sub panels in the engine room and even on the bridge looking for something I didn’t know about but nothing.
    What the heck could be causing this? I’ve turned all breakers on but get nothing. Maybe the switches? It would be odd for 3 different questions nes to go at once
    Thanks for your thoughts
  2. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    Everything else works on the port/stbd sides except 4 lights on the port side of the salon and the stbd master lights/outlets. I’m talking about ac power
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  3. chesapeake46

    chesapeake46 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Location:
    Chesapeake Bay, Delaware Bay & S.Jersey
    When you say no power, does that mean you tested one or two fixtures and they have zero voltage or does no power mean " not lit " ?
  4. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    Just to clarify, there are 4 lights on the starboard side salon ceiling, none working and the lights and outlets in the master suite are not working.
  5. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    Chesapeake, I haven’t put a meter to anything yet but I tried a working lightbulb and plugged in a charger, neither of which worked in the funky light outlets or plug recepticals
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  6. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    Lights and such are usually Daisy chained from the switch. It sounds like you have a light that has overheated and the wire connection behind it has failed.
    If it's everything on the one switch then check the supply on the line side of the switch. Somewhere you have a connection that has failed. This statement is predicated on your earlier remark that you confirmed the breaker is good.
  7. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Good ole Hats have transformers scattered about. Each transformer has an in line fuse next to it.
    These transformers are well Hidden.
    Do you have the prints that came with the boat?
  8. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    Capt R
    Yes, I have all the plans including wiring. Now I have a starting point! I just have to see where they might be hiding. Thanks
  9. bayoubud

    bayoubud Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Florida
    Check the two storage cabinets, one is behind the TV and the other behind the upper galley cabinets, had access doors in the stairwell. My transformers were on the stb side behind the galley cabinets.
  10. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    Omg! What a rookie issue. I broke out the blueprints and saw several transformers but then realized everything tied into one line with two gfi outlets in the salon. Pressed reset & bingo, everything working!
    Thanks guys, you made me start thinking!
  11. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Ah, the ole GFI headach.
    I keep forgetting about them.
    Good show..
  12. Oscarvan

    Oscarvan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    Chesapeake Bay
    RV's are good training for this.... Bathroom GFI outlet on mine controls three outlets on the opposite end of the bus.....
  13. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,714
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    We managed a Hatteras MY.
    Galley up, Four heads.
    The GFI in the way forward, port, crews head also serviced the next after cabin and day head (where the down galley & dinette would be).
    Made a long day for me back tracing the wires.
  14. CTdave

    CTdave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Greenwich CT/ Stuart FL
    Sounds like fun Ralph
  15. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,891
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Most Hatteras SF, also have a row of GFCI's in the attic that are for different area's of the boat. They're usually labelled.