Click for Cross Click for Furuno Click for Mag Bay Click for Walker Click for Nordhavn

Upgrading to 56 Carver or 50 Azimut?

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by spreda, Apr 29, 2016.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. spreda

spreda New Member

I've been driving a 46 Maxum w/450 Cummings for 7 years. Looking to upgrade and have been aboard 53/56 Carvers and 50 Azimuts. The Carver has more room but the Azimut seems better, more solidly constructed. Past threads have lauded the Azimut ride while cautioning about wiring. I like that the Azimuts have Cats. All else being equal would you go with the Azimut or Carver? Thanks
  2. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

A 'Mut with Cats is interesting. Are you looking at already listed ships?
    I guess it's o k to send the YW links.

Attn ADMIN: Is that ok?
  3. olderboater

olderboater Senior Member

(C) None of the above?

Where do you intend to use the boat and how? Carver and Azimut target two very different markets.
  4. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

OB has a point past the dock that needs to be answered. What are you going to do with the boat???

If your serious into value for a long haul, answer OB's question and we can continue from there.

I have been on a couple of fancy carvers with that Star Trek pilot seat. It's absolutely worthless but looks fancy, as some other Mut options.
    Beamed females and fat mechanics would prefer the Carvers. Wana be playboys may lean towards the Mut.
    I see some value in a properly cared for Cat boat over a Cummings boat as a slight edge pending the Cat power (NOT small 31 series).
    Dock side I can see someone comparing the two directly but they are entirely two different floating @$%^& (boats).

Oh, I'm not biased. Where did you get that thought.
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
  5. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member