Click for Westport Click for Westport Click for Mulder Click for Mulder Click for Furuno

Emergency generator??

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by richierich33, Nov 7, 2023.

1. richierich33

richierich33 New Member

2006 Lazzara 74 has a 27.5kw main gen and a 13.5kw “emergency generator”. This unit has a separate isolated circuit within the panels to only run a few critical items like batt chargers, refrigerator, lighting and 220vac emergency bilge pump. (way less than it's capability) Seems like a waste of a capable gen to me. Looks pretty easy to convert this to a “nighttime generator” to run 50amps of whatever I choose (half the AC, TV, etc). The question is why did Lazzara set it up this way and can there be any down side to this unit having an option to power anything (within ampacity) in the panel? Thanks
  2. butch w

butch w Member

I would think that running it like you say as a nighttime generator and on a load would be good for it.
    I am not an expert by any means, but

Worse thing is for it to sit un-used not running at all and hoping it will run fine when needed in an emergency. It is also good for the generators to be ran under a load, if it were mine I would absolutely run it and power on what it can run.
  3. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

I have no idea WHY Lazarra set it up that way and was puzzled at some of the things it didn't power, I think fresh water pump was one of them. I'd convert it so you can choose to run whatever you want on it, as it's oversized for the little stuff it did actually run and no reason to put any hours on it except in an emergency
  4. mapism

mapism Senior Member

Why, isn't that 24V DC?
  5. Pascal

Pascal Senior Member

Usually on the smaller boats Lazzara used an AC pump (Mach 5) with a 24 Vdc backup.
  6. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member