Click for YF Listing Service Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Burger Click for Northern Lights Click for Furuno

yacht designer just starting out...need help please!

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by dorvieto, Jun 9, 2009.

1. dorvieto

dorvieto New Member

Hi everyone
    I'm new to YF and am looking to start putting a portfolio of designs together so I can pursue yacht design when I graduate from college next year. I am a naval architecture student so I know the physics behind why everything works once it is designed, but not how to get to the finished product. My question is: where does one start with a yacht design? Should I design a side profile that I like, then begin to develop deck plans, and from there a full 3D model? Or do I design it from the outside out, starting with the general arrangements and moving outwards? I have a lot of ideas but am unsure of how to proceed with them. Any advice anyone can give me will be greatly appreciated, including any comments about a portfolio in general (like what companies might be looking for, views to include, etc.). Thanks!
  2. AMG

AMG YF Moderator

Hi, I think you should do as you feel is the best for you. There are no rules, until you are within a company where they will ask you to do certain things.

A profile is always a good start, because you have to think in 3D already then.

To get a GA in place is always a challenge because all boats are too small...:)

If you are good at making 3D-renderings by hand, it is always more impressing than computer renderings. At least on me...
  3. CODOG

CODOG Senior Member