Click for Cross Click for Mulder Click for Burger Click for Northern Lights Click for Abeking

Wood Hull Chris Crafts - Pros and Cons

Discussion in 'Chris Craft Roamer Yacht' started by Max, Jun 12, 2006.

1. Max

Max Guest

Looking to "step up" to a larger vessel (45 - 60 somewhere) and to do so in my price range, the most prominent vessels seem to be the older (late 60s to early 70s) Chris Craft. Most (beside the Roamers) seem to have wooden hulls. I have looked at dozens and been both allured and afraid as I have looked at some! Most other type hull owners say "stay clear" of the wood! Most wood hull owners say "with a little routine upkeep, you'll love it". I am new to the idea and would appreciate any and all comments, steers and advice. Looking at an older (1967) 52' and another 1964 60'. Both have been "replanked" to some degree or another.

First major question - how long is that usually good for? Major stripping and replanking/screwing/painting?

Thanks! I look forward to your thoughts.

MAX
  2. alloyed2sea

alloyed2sea Moderator

The BEST material for boats!

IN short, there is none. Each one has its tradeoffs.
    A short discourse offered here for those "debating" what kinda boat to buy:
    Wood
    Advantages
    "Authentic" - a real boat :p Warm feelings abound onboard & "Soft" ride on the sea.
    Disadvantages
    2 hrs of work spent for one of play (Your new work motto: "Itz a circle, not a line"); Really need to keep a wooden boat undercover - otherwise, multiply the 2 hrs x 2.:( Harder (alot) to resell.:eek:
    More on wooden hulls here:
    http://www.marinesurvey.com/surveyguide/wood0.htm
    Fiberglass
    Advantages
    Shiny, and maintenance free(er); Strong if "real" GRP (glass reinforced plastic) = rare or expensive. ('64 thru '70 Commanders, Vikings, Hatterai & Bertrams - best betz). More about that here: http://www.yachtsurvey.com/Fiberglass_Boats.htm
    http://www.marinesurvey.com/surveyguide/HullFailPart1.htm
    Disadvantages