Click for Nordhavn Click for Nordhavn Click for Northern Lights Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Furuno

V Sat

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by oceaneer, Aug 22, 2008.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. oceaneer

oceaneer Member

So the time has come to finally throw the old sat b terminal overboard, and purchase a new V sat unit.

I have had experience with the Stratos system and found it ok but not great.
    Any one out there have a system that they are truly happy with?
    We are looking at Radio Holland (RHconncet), Stratos, Visiva, and Linkscape from Florida. All 1meter + dishes as were are a 165 footer

The Linkscape is quite expensive but the interface looks fool proof.. they are the only one not using the seatell 4006 platform, they use a Navisystem dome.. This makes me slightly nervous as i have no experience with Navisystem.. they are a Italian company..

So any one out there can shed some light?
    We will be at sea for the next week so i wont be able to reply

Thanks
    Oceaneer
  2. Flubber

Flubber New Member

3. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Welcome to YF Flubber.

I hope you are not trying to promote your own business here with your first post.

Oceaneer you could also look at CAPROCK as a service provider they have a good reputation and seem to deliver the bandwidth they promise.

The SEATEL 4006 Dome is not a bad unit. I would steer clear of any unknown manufactured units. ORBIT are also good but their tech support/spares is non existent which is a downer as the units themselves are very good when working
  4. oceaneer

oceaneer Member

Hi Kiwi
    Are you running caprock??

Thanks oceaneer
  5. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

I am not currently running CAPROCK.

It was my preferred choice for a new build but I was pipped at the post by a personal relationship between someone further up the tree than me and another provider.
  6. Flubber

Flubber New Member