Click for YF Listing Service Click for Delta Click for Cross Click for Mulder Click for Mulder

Unexpected issues for a new live aboard?

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by btyson, Aug 22, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. btyson

btyson Member

I am new to this fascinating site and cant believe the wealth of information available. Thanks to everyone who contributes! My Question is to those who recall their first year(s) in yachting:
    What were the unexpected issues that were encountered when you initially started yachting?
    We live in the U.S. Midwest and have owned many small boats with our current boat a 27' Cobalt bowrider. Soon the kids will move on to college and we are seriously considering selling the home and (at least for a couple of years) living aboard a small yacht, probably in the Southeast US. A decade ago we owned a Searay 390 EC. that we kept on a lake. The thought of actually living day to day on THAT boat is somewhat daunting. Our budget for this endeavor will likely be less than $500k. What are the "surprises" that you have encountered?

Thanks!
  2. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member