Click for Mulder Click for JetForums Click for Northern Lights Click for YF Listing Service Click for Burger

Some info/advice pls

Discussion in 'Yacht Captains' started by mp09, Oct 6, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. mp09

mp09 New Member

My partner and I are looking at moving to Boston MA next year.

I'm a Class 3 Engineer, and have been looking around for some work available in the New England area and have yet to find anything online.

Does someone have some info, leads or pointers that could help out in getting me in the right direction??

Many thanks
    Matt
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Is it a full STCW 95 Class 3 CoC you have there?

What's your horsepower limit as Chief?
  3. mp09

mp09 New Member

Hi there.

My Ticket is a MEC3 Foreign Going, full STCW 95

Not 100% sure on hp limits if any to be honest, as it is unlimited for Merchant work.
    I understand I can be issued directly with a MCA Y3 upon application if required.

Judging my your name, I take it you're in the same country as I am :)
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

It might be unlimited as Watchkeeper on a Motor Driven ship but won't have much more than 750 kW as Chief if my memory serves me correctly

Neither your NZ Merch Ticket or a Yacht Endorsed one will do you any good in the US on anything not foreign flagged. I am guessing your partner is from the MA area and not that you are just chancing finding a job there.

Although I was born and bred here I am not usually here but I am this time dealing with a bit of business.
  5. mp09

mp09 New Member

Myself and Partner are both Kiwis, however she is looking at a exchange with the company she is with.

Are you aware of any ability to update/transfer either MEC3 or Y3 to a US ticket?
  6. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Will her transfer give you the right to work in the US?