Click for YF Listing Service Click for Burger Click for Burger Click for Cross Click for Abeking

Shipping my 2007 Silverton 42C just purchased

Discussion in 'Silverton Yacht' started by heatrecovery, Apr 17, 2010.

1. heatrecovery

heatrecovery New Member

Hi,
    I'm brand new to yachting and just bought a Silverton 42 convertible 2007 with the help of my broker. It will have to be shipped from Rhode Island to McKinley Marina, Milwaukee. The question is should I bottom it around or remove the top and ship it the 1050 miles ground? Is there a recommendation to turnkey it either route? I close between now and May 1st. Is there a recommendation for someone familiar with this boat to turn key it?
    Thanks,
    I can't wait to get er on the Great Lakes!
  2. Mark I

Mark I Member

There are some very experienced captains here so I think you will get some valuable advice.

For what it is worth, my personal opinion would be that it is better for the boat to be run on her own hull around. Plus it is a nice adventure.
  3. heatrecovery

heatrecovery New Member

Thank you for your reply. I just got aboard this platform and you're the first to reply. I need to find out how many miles and how long it would take at 30 mph to make the run. The boat has only 140 hours on it.
    Thanks,
    John
  4. Henning

Henning Senior Member